Chan starting 11 named

Senong, standing in for national coach Shakes Mashaba has named seven debutants in his mash-up starting line-up, including left-back Levy Mokgothu, who has not played a single match since signing for Kaizer Chiefs from Moroka Swallows a year ago.

Other debutants include the experienced Thabo September, Roggert Nyundu a regular goalscorer in the NFD for Black Leopards, Michael Morton of SuperSport United, Orlando Pirates reserve Thabo Qalinqe, Mlungisi Mbunjana of Cape Town All Stars and his former teammate Amigo Memela, signed by Pirates in the off-season.

Wandisile Letlabika, who captains the team, is the only survivor from the squad that defeated Mauritius in the last round of this competition.

The bench is similarly inexperienced  – only striker Bradley Grobler (two caps) and midfielder Hendrick Ekstein (one cap) having played for Bafana previously.

Gift Motupa has been released from the squad after he failed to recover from a knee injury.

Those who did not make the squad are: Dumisani Msibi, Madisha Motjeka, Rofhiwa Tshikovhi, Thato Sithole, Thamsanqa Sangweni, Morne Nel, Vincent Pule and Dumisani Zuma.

Starting XI:

Wayne Sandilands – Wandisile Letlabika (C), Siyanda Zwane, Thabo September, Levy Mokgothu – Michael Morton, Mlungisi Mbunjana, Thabo Qalinge, Luvuyo Memela – Bongani Ndulula, Roggert Nyundu

Subs: Nkosingiphile Gumede, Tebogo Moerane, Mario Booysen, Percy Tau, Lyle Lakay, Bradley Grobler, Hendrick Ekstein