Majoro one shy of 50

Telkom Knockout

READ: Pirates eye record cup run

Since scoring on his PSL debut while turning out for AmaZulu on August 29, 2010 in a League match against Maritzburg United – Majoro has shot up to 49 goals and is just one shy of reaching his half-century.

In a league thin on dependable goal scorers it is noteworthy that 'Major' is close to the milestone despite his relatively late entry into the professional ranks.

The 28-year-old only broke into the PSL in 2010, and is just into his fifth season playing topflight football in South Africa.

Majoro reaped an impressive 16 goals in his debut season in the colours of Usuthu winning him a move to Kaizer Chiefs where he found the net 27 times before his ugly departure earlier this year, after which he found a home at Pirates where he has six goals to his name to date.

The 49 goals that Majoro has scored have come from just 72 starts in his time playing in the PSL.

Worth pointing out is the fact that he has also come on as a substitute in another 56 games - more so at Pirates where he has come off the bench in 13 games this season, starting just a mere two games.

Pirates coach Vladimir Vermezovic has only started with Majoro in the Telkom Knockout, so it appears likely that the Ladybrand-born forward will do so again this weekend as he pushes for his half-century.

Worth noting about the regular scorers in the PSL is the fact that Siyabonga Nomvete (113) and Mabhuti Khenyeza (105) remain the only current PSL footballers to have reached 100 goals.

Nomvete is the all-time PSL top scorer despite spending seven-and-a-half years of his career in Europe.

The 36-year-old forward has scored only once this year and is yet to do so this season.

Also standing with Majoro in the queue for the half-century is Ajax Cape Town veteran striker Nathan Paulse, who is stuck on 49 goals since he made his debut in the 2000/01 season along with Lerato Chabangu who has 48.

Active players to have reached 50 goals: (number of goals in brackets)

Siyabonga Nomvete (113)
Mabhuti Khenyeza (105)
Katlego Mashego (80)
Collins Mbesuma (79)
Surprise Moriri (78)
Katlego Mphela (77)
Anthony Laffor (59)
Erwin Isaacs (56)
Daine Klate (56)
Mame Niang (53)
Richard Henyekane (52)
Bernard Parker (51)