Chiefs boast TKO record over Bucs

The much-anticipated encounter promises to be another fiery affair after the two sides clashed in the league less than a month ago, with Pirates coming out 2-1 victors in that instance.

Let the breaking news come to you! Sign up for KICK OFF SMS

The Buccaneers also boast a 10-game unbeaten record over Amakhosi, who last managed to overcome their rivals in December 2014 with a 2-0 league victory.

This time, Chiefs will be looking to end that run as they aim to protect an unbeaten record of their own, having never lost to Pirates in this particular competition.

The two sides have met on three previous occasions in the TKO, with The Glamour Boys winning twice on penalties and once in regulation time.

The first time they faced off in the League Cup was the semi-final back in April 2010, when the tournament was shifted from late 2009 due to the fixture congestion caused by the 2010 FIFA World Cup being hosted in South Africa.

The match ended goalless, with Chiefs then going on to win 3-0 in the penalty shootouts, thanks to Jose Torrealba, David Mathebula and Tshepo Bulu all slotting home without reply from Pirates.

Get the latest Orlando Pirates news sent to your phone!

They met for a rematch in the final of the competition later that year, with the Naturena-based side thrashing their counterparts 3-0, thanks to a Sthembiso Ngcobo brace before Siphiwe Tshabalala put the final nail in the Bucs coffin.

Most recently, Chiefs and Pirates did battle in the 2015 semi-final, and the former – then coached by Steve Komphela – maintained their dominance with a 6-5 penalty shootout victory after the match ended 0-0 AET.

Lucky Baloyi proved the hero on the day as he slotted home in sudden death, before Siyabonga Sangweni missed the decisive spot-kick.

The statistics also show current coach Giovanni Solinas has a clean-sheet record to protect, with Milutin Sredojevic hoping to get his charges to score their first goal this Saturday.

Kick-off of the clash is scheduled for 15h00 at the Moses Mabhida Stadium in Durban.