Bafana Bafana held by Guinea

SA National Teams

Bafana Bafana endured a frustrating evening in front of goal after playing to a goalless draw against Guinea on Friday night.

Bafana coach Hugo Broos named virtually a new line-up from the last game against Ghana, as only Siyanda Xulu and Terrence Mashego were retained while Bandile Shandu, Thabang Monare and Khuliso Mudau made their debuts.

Broos' charges had a bright start and should have been ahead in the early stages after Lyle Foster went clear on goal but was denied by goalkeeper Ibrahim Kone in a one-on-one.

Guinea settled in the game after that and Antoine Conte had a chance to break the deadlock in the 18th minute after a cross at the back post but his low strike was saved by goalkeeper Veli Mothwa from close range.

While the Syli National did not have the final product, Keagan Dolly was presented with a big chance on a counter-attack on the stroke of halftime after going through on goal but his attempted lob was gathered by Kone.

Scroll through the gallery to see South Africa's all-time leading goalscorers in World Cup qualifying

Both sides had chances on transitions in the opening exchanges of the second stanza and Shandu should have sent Bafana ahead just before the hour-mark after a through ball by Foster on the blind-side but his shot across goal sailed inches wide of the upright.

Broos needed fresh legs as the half went on, with Victor Letsoalo coming on in place of Foster upfront while Mamelodi Sundowns midfielder Teboho Mokoena replaced Monare.

However, Bafana were struggling to shift the gears going forward in the closing stages, as Guinea started enjoying more of the possession and they went closet to snatching victory in stoppage time as Ibrahima Sory Conte's goal-bound header was cleared away.

That proved to be the final chance of the encounter, with Bafana now looking to finish their European trip with another international friendly match against world champions France on Tuesday evening.

Confirmed line-ups:

Bafana: Mothwa, Mudau, Xulu, Sibisi, Mashego, Monare, Mvala, Shandu, Foster, Dolly, Makgopa.

Subs: Bvuma, De Rueck, Mcaba, Mobbie, Lyle Lakay, Brooks, Letsoalo

Guinea: Kone, Antoine, Ousmane, Conte, Issiaga, Diawara, Cisse, Aguibou, Moriba, Thierno, Guirassy

Official: Tau withdraws from Bafana squad