Durban to host 2019 COSAFA Cup

SA National Teams

Durban was announced as the host city for the 2019 edition of the COSAFA Cup on Wednesday night.

The tournament will run from May 25 to June 8 and will be the last preparation for Southern African teams before they compete at the Africa Cup of Nations in Egypt.

Those teams are Bafana Bafana, Angola, Madagascar, Namibia and Zimbabwe, who pulled out of the hosting of the event due to financial reasons.

According to a statement released by COSAFA, it will be hosted in partnership with the South African Football Association and the Ethekwini Municipality, with venues around the city to enrich the 14-team competition.

Princess Magogo Stadium (KwaMashu), King Zwelithini (Umlazi) and Moses Mabhida will be the venues that will be used for this year's competition.

"We are delighted to host what we believe will be the best ever COSAFA Cup in Durban, a city steeped in sporting history with the most magnificent facilities," said COSAFA president Philip Chiyangwa.

The draw for the group stage of the competition is likely to be held in the first week of May, with the format unchanged from previous years.