Senong names final U20 WC squad

SA National Teams

Amajita coach Thabo Senong and his technical team have named their final squad for the upcoming FIFA U20 World Cup.

Senong has made just three changes from his Africa U20 Cup of Nations squad, as he named his final 21-man list on Monday for the showpiece kicking off in Poland next week.

One notable absentee is that of Kaizer Chiefs star and CAF Player of the Tournament in Niger, Nkosingiphile Ngcobo, who has been omitted after suffering an Achilles tendon injury in March that ruled him out for six months.

Also missing out on progressing from the AFCON to the world stage are midfielder Simphiwe Ncamani of TS Sporting and AmaZulu striker Bandila Shangase.

Meanwhile, Senong's initial 26-man preliminary squad has also seen several casualties in Nkanyisa Shinga (Vitoria Setubal, Portugal), Jess Donn (Ubuntu CT), Tashreeq Matthews (Utrecht, Netherlands), Duncan Adonis (CT City), Sphephele Sithole (Belenenses, Portugal), Solomon Kunyedi (Bidvest Wits), Jermaine George (Cape Umoya), Muzomuhe Khanyi (Bidvest Wits), Simphiwe Ncamani and Bayanda Shangase.

"This was not an easy process to go through given the fact that we had a very good list of talented players in our provisional squad,” Mkhalele explained on SAFA's website, in the absence of Senong, who is attending to a family bereavement.

“We had constant engagements with our head coach during his selection process, and that enabled us to select what we regard as the best squad for the upcoming world footballing competition."

South Africa have been pitted alongside Argentina, Korea Republic and Portugal in Group F, and will kick-off their campaign on May 25 against the Albicelestes.


1          Khulekani Walter KUBHEKA   (Cape Umoya FC)

2          Kopano THUNTSANE              (Pele Pele FC)

3          Glen Tumelo BAADJIES           (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)


4          Brendon Thabo MOLOISANE  (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)

5          Keenan ABRAHAMS                (Ajax Cape Town FC)

6          Givemore KHUPE                    (Cape Umoya FC)

7          Keenan Leigh PHILLIPS          (Bidvest Wits FC)

8          Fezile GCABA                          (Pela Pele FC)

9          Gadinkame MODISE               (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)

10        Sbusiso Gideon MABILISO      (AmaZulu FC)


11        Siphesihle Elwin MKHIZE        (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)

12        Oswin Reagan APPOLLIS      (SuperSport United FC)

13        Promise Lebo MKHUMA         (Mamelodi Sundowns)

14        Njabulo BLOM                        (Kaizer Chiefs FC)

15        Luvuyo Howard PHEWA         (Real Kings FC)

16        Kobamelo KODISANG            (A.D. Sanjoanense FC, Portugal)

17        Luke Gareth LE ROUX            (SuperSport United FC)


18        Leo THETHANI                        (Ajax Amsterdam, Netherlands)

19        James Thabiso MONYANE      (Pele Pele FC)

20        Lyle Brent FOSTER                  (AS Monaco FC, France)

21        Khanya LESHABELA                (Leicester City FC, England)