Broos targets progress after naming Bafana squad

SA National Teams

Duo Brandon Petersen and Rivaldo Coetzee were some of the big omissions as Hugo Broos named a 23-man Bafana Bafana squad for this month's international friendlies against Guinea and France.

South Africa are set to return to international football later this month when they travel to Europe for back-to-back friendly encounters against Guinea and France.

Hugo Broos' side will meet fellow African nation Guinea in Belgium on Friday, 25 March, before travelling to Lille four days later to meet the reigning world champions.

Ahead of the double-header, the Belgian tactician cut seven players from his provisional squad, including the highest-scoring South African in the PSL this season, Victor Letsoalo.

Brandon Petersen, Sbonelo Cele, Veluyeke Zulu, Rivaldo Coetzee, Pule Mmodi, and Mduduzi Mdantsane were the others to miss out on the final squad.

South Africa's 23-man squad to face Guinea & France:

Goalkeepers: Ronwen Williams (Supersport United), Bruce Bvuma (Kaizer Chiefs), Veli Mothwa (AmaZulu)

Defenders: Sydney Mobbie (Sekhukhune), Siyanda Xulu (unattached), Terrence Mashego (Cape Town City), Nkosinathi Sibisi (Golden Arrows), Athenkosi Mcaba (Stellenbosch FC), Rushine De Reuck (Mamelodi Sundowns), Khuliso Mudau (Mamelodi Sundowns) & Bandile Shandu (Orlando Pirates), Lyle Lakay (Mamelodi Sundowns).

Midfielders: Keagan Dolly (Kaizer Chiefs), Ethan Brooks (TS Galaxy), Thabang Monare (Orlando Pirates), Teboho Mokoena (Mamelodi Sundowns), Goodman Mosele (Orlando Pirates), Mothobi Mvala (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Strikers: Fagrie Lakay (Pyramids FC), Percy Tau (Al Ahly), Bongokuhle Hlongwane (Minnesota United), Lyle Foster (Westerlo), Evidence Makgopa (Baroka)

Scroll through the gallery to see South Africa's leading goalscorer in FIFA World Cup qualifying