Warriors call up eight SA-based players

The Warriors will join Bafana Bafana and Angola's Sable Antelopes in the friendly tournament hosted by Zambia during the upcoming FIFA break.

Just hours after Bafana coach Stuart Baxter named his 25-man squad, coach Sunday Chizambwe named a large contingent of foreign-based players, with seven Absa Premiership representatives and one from the First Division.

Kaizer Chiefs defender Teenage Hadebe has made the cut in just his first season in the PSL, while Orlando Pirates midfielder Marshal Munetsi earned his maiden call-up.

AmaZulu will have two representatives in midfielder Butholezwe Ncube, who will also be in line for his international debut, and former Chiefs striker Ovidy Karuru.

Witbank Spurs goalkeeper Edmore Sibanda is set to join Polokwane City counterpart George Chigova in competition for the number one jersey.

Baroka's Talent Chawapiwa and SuperSport United's Evans Rusike make up the rest of the PSL contingent in the Zimbabwean side to travel to Zambia next week.

The Warriors will face hosts Chipolopolo in their opening clash on March 22, and depending on their result will then face either the winner or loser between Bafana and Angola on March 25.

Zim squad:

Takabva Mawaya (ZPC Kariba)
Edmore Sibanda (Witbank Spurs)
George Chigova (Polokwane City)

Costa Nhamoinesu (AC Sparta Prague)
Praise Tonha (Caps United)
Jimmy Dzingai (Yadah Stars)
Teenage Hadebe (Kaizer Chiefs)
Devine Lunga (Chicken Inn)
Adam Chicksen (Bradford City)
Cliff Moyo (Halifax)

Marvelous Nakamba (Club Brugge)
Talent Chawapiwa (Baroka)
Aleck Mudimu (CEFN Druids)
Butholezwe Ncube (AmaZulu)
Marshall Munetsi (Orlando Pirates)
Tinotenda Kadewere (Djurgardens IF)

Evans Rusike (SuperSport United)
Ovidy Karuru (AmaZulu)
Silas Songani (Sonderjyske)
Abbas Amidu (Entag El Harby)