Official: Swallows avoid relegation


Swallows FC will be in the DStv Premiership next season after seeing off University of Pretoria in their final play-off encounter at the Lucas Moripe Stadium.

No less than two changes from AmaTuks showed where Luvuyo Phewa and Siyanda Msani returned, and Sipho Sibiya and Mwape Musonda were restored by the Dube Birds who also named two alterations.

Possession turnover by the host early on nearly led to the opener as Wonderboy Makhubu broke through the defensive lines to go level with Jody February, but the latter was equal to the task.

The Dube Birds became settled after a difficult start and threatened through a glancing header from a smart angle by Sibiya which AmaTuks goalkeeper Thakasani Mbanjwa repelled emphatically.

Swallows remained clear minutes apart and conjured up another scare when a first-time header by Musonda in the area following a teasing ball worked a reaction save from Mbanjwa.

AmaTuks brought on a substitution seven minutes to halftime in Kaketso Majadibodu who came on for the services of Aupa Moeketsi in a subsequent tactical alteration.

Scroll through the gallery to see the 10 most valuable No. 10s in the DStv Premiership

Yet another substitution from AmaTuks ahead of the second half came where Etiosa Ighodaro replaced fellow forward Phewa.

Swallows were eager to maintain believe moments in the restart, but AmaTuks were closest to the lead after Ighodaro tucked a cross-field ball inches over target from close-range.

However, it was the host that had the breakthrough 61 minutes in after Yagan Sasman peeled off the second-ball on the edge of the area following a throw-in and volleyed into the bottom-corner.

AmaTuks looked for a quick reply a few moments later with balls in and around the area, but couldn’t find the desired breakthrough as substitute Kamohelo Pheeane particularly missed target.

The Dube Birds had a clear chance in the dying minutes to settle the tie through a three-on-three attack, but the visitors managed and saw their counterparts snatched victory to retain their Premiership status

Confirmed line-ups:

Swallows: February, Solomons, Letlabika, Sibiya, Sasman, Wambi, Margeman, Mahlatsi, Saleng, Malinga, Musonda.

Subs: Tshabalala, Khupe, Matlou, Nyatama, Ndlovu, Mhlongo, Makgalwa, Basadien, Khutlang.

AmaTuks: Mbanjwa, Maqoko, Allan, Moeketsi, Msani, Tshabalala,  Mpedi, Julies, Barns, Makhubu, Phewa.

Subs: Cola, Pheaane, Majadibodu, Montueli, T. Mokoena, B. Mokwena, Chokoe, Ighodaro