PSL launch DStv Compact Cup


The PSL has announced a new competition to be played on 22 and 29 January 2022, called the DStv Compact Cup - Viewer's Choice.

"Fans will get an opportunity to select their favourite PSL stars to play for a regional combined team representing the depth and breadth of the PSL," a statement said.

"They will then get to remote control players out of the cup matches by using designated substitution spots by way of vote.

"The cup will showcase the most popular players in the PSL by the fans, for the fans."

The competition will be made up of four matches involving players from all 16 top-flight clubs during the mid-season break with fans having the chance to vote for which players represent their teams.

With also the team names to be decided by the football public.

There will be 26 players in each squad with fans able to vote for the make-up of their team with five players made available from each DStv Premiership team.

Each team's squad of 26 players will be made up of eight defenders, four midfielders and four forwards in a matchday squad.

The competition format will include four streams:

Coastal 1: Arrows, AmaZulu, Royal AM and Maritzburg
Coastal 2: Chippa, CT City, Stellies and Baroka
Inland 1: Chiefs, Pirates, Swallows and Galaxy
Inland 2: Sundowns, SSU, Gallants and Sekhukhune

The winning team will receive prize money of R1 million.

Chiefs target scores as transfer gains momentum

Schloss: Club chairmen allowed to enter pitch

Zwane praises Chiefs resolve after 'difficult' two weeks