Bafana XI vs Guinea-Bissau


Click HERE for all Bafana news

Kick-off is at 15h00 at Moses Mabhida Stadium.

Da Gama has made several changes to the squad that beat Senegal 2-1 in a 2018 World Cup qualifier in Polokwane in November last year, a result that came under scrutiny with the banning of Ghanaian referee Joseph Lamptey.

Only five players who featured in that match will get a start against Giunea-Bissau – Itumeleng Khune, Thulani Hlatshwayo, Erick Mathoho, Keagan Dolly and Thulani Serero.

Khune retains his jersey in goals as he will earn his 82nd cap and will also captain the side.

Ramahlwe Mphahele and Tebogo Langerman will occupy fullback positions while Hlatshwayo and Mathoho will be the central defence pairing.

Kamohelo Mokotjo and Dean Furman will operate in the heart of the midfield.

This will be Mokotjo’s first start in a Bafana jersey since 13 November 2015 when he played against Honduras in San Pedro Sula.

The Holland-based midfielder almost didn’t qualify to play in this match after he obtained Dutch citizenship, thereby losing his South African citizenship. But with help of the Department of Home Affairs he was able to regain his SA citizenship after he made an application.

READ: The new KICK OFF Magazine is out!

Dolly, Themba Zwane and Serero also get the nod in midfield, while France-based attacker Kermit Erasmus is upfront.

Zwane last played in a friendly against Cameroon in 2015 ahead of the Africa Cup of Nations in Libreville, while in-form substitute Lebogang Manyama’s last international was in May 2015 against Malawi in a COSAFA Cup clash in Phokeng near Rustenburg.

Erasmus last featured for Bafana in Uyo, Nigeria in a 2-2 draw against the host nation in a 2015 AFCON qualifier.

With only 12 players allowed on the bench, goalkeeper Shu-aib Walters and striker Phakamani Mahlambi will play no part in the match.

Bafana XI vs Guinea-Bissau:
Itumeleng Khune (GK) (c), Ramahlwe Mphahlele, Tebogo Langerman, Thulani Hlatshwayo, Erick Mathoho, Kamohelo Mokotjo, Dean Furman, Keagan Dolly, Themba Zwane, Thulani Serero, Kermit Erasmus.

Darren Keet (GK), Rivaldo Coetzee, Lorenzo Gordino, Diamond Thopola, Hlompo Kekana, Thabo Mnyamane, Andile Jali, Tiyani Mabunda, Lebogang Manyama, Percy Tau, Lars Veldwijk, Luther Singh.

Walters (GK) and Mahlambi.