Bucs, Wits in Future Champs semis


The prestigious junior competition for Under-17 teams, now in its eighth year, sees 12 clubs compete for honours.

Wits sealed their place in Friday’s semi-finals with an emphatic 3-1 victory over Chinese visitors Shandong Luneng.

Shungu Dutiro netted a brace for The Clever Boys and in doing so took his tally for the tournament to four and leaves him alone at the top of the goal-scoring charts.

Edson Khumalo had given Wits the lead before Chaoyang Liu equalised for the Asian side.

La Liga giants Atletico made it three wins from three games, and sealed top spot in their pool, with a slender 1-0 success over Black Aces.

Guille Niero got the only goal of the game to set up a semi-final with Pirates, the latter finishing top of their pool despite a 1-1 Soweto Derby draw with Kaizer Chiefs.

Lebohang Lesako got the opener for the Amakhosi, but Njabulo Ngcobo struck back late on to grab a share of the spoils for the young Buccaneers.

Three-time champions Clube Atletico Mineiro still had to settle for second spot behind Pirates in Group A on goal-difference despite their 2-1 success over Mamelodi Sundowns.

Andrew and Alerrandro were on target for the Brazilian side while promising Under-14 player Pitso Tlotlego got his second goal of the campaign for Sundowns.

Defending champions Torino may have been denied top spot in Group D but they ended their pool stage with an emphatic 4-1 success over Mozambican outfit Ferroviario de Maputo.

Alessandro Iacuaniello grabbed a hat-trick for the Italians to go with a second goal of the tournament for Nahuel Jose Busato. Luis Sitoe netted for Ferroviario.

Club Tijuana sealed the final semi-final spot as they topped Group B despite a 1-0 loss to Belgian side Club Brugge, who had scorer Murad-Han Gonen to thank for their victory.

Tijuana edged the Belgians to top spot on goal-difference.

The Future Champions Gauteng International Tournament has once again been given an extra edge with local schools adopting one of the 12 competing team as their own, with the intention of rallying support for their side.

The school of the club that wins the tournament in the final on Saturday will receive soccer merchandise to boost their own football programme.

La Liga will also be hosting the three winners of the Future Players Talent Identification programme, as well as the most promising coach, that is being run in conjunction with the Future Champions Gauteng tournament.  


BidVest Wits 3 (Edson Khumalo, Shungu Dutiro 2) Shandong Luneng 1 (Chaoyang Liu)
Black Aces 0 Atletico Madrid 1
(Guille Niero)

Torino 4 (Alessandro Iacuaniello 3, Nahuel Jose Busato) Ferroviario Maputo 1 (Luis Sitoe)

Mamelodi Sundowns 1 (Pitso Tlotlego) Atletico Mineiro 2 (Andrew, Alerrandro)

Orlando Pirates 1 (Njabulo Ngcobo) Kaizer Chiefs 1 (Lebohang Lesako)

Club Tijuana 0 Club Brugge 1 (Murad-Han Gonen)


GROUP A                                             P             W           D             L              GF          GA          PTS
Orlando Pirates (SA)                       3              2              1              0              5              2              7

Atletico Mineiro (Brazil)                3              2              0              1              4              4              6

Kaizer Chiefs (SA)                            3              0              1              2              1              4              1

GROUP B                                             P             W           D             L              GF          GA          PTS

Club Tijuana (Mexico)                    3              1              1              1              3              2              4

Club Brugge (Belgium)                   3              1              1              1              1              1              4

Mamelodi Sundowns (SA)           3              0              2              1              2              3              2


GROUP C                                             P             W           D             L              GF          GA          PTS

Atletico Madrid (Spain)                 3              3              0              0              5              0              9

Shandong Luneng (China)            3              0              1              2              2              5              1

Black Aces (SA)                                 3              0              1              2              1              4              1

GROUP D                                             P             W           D             L              GF          GA          PTS
BidVest Wits (SA)                             3              2              1              0              8              2              7

Torino (Italy)                                      3              2              1              0              7              2              7

Ferroviario de Maputo (Moz)     3              0              0              3              1              11           0             


11h30 – Club Brugge vs Torino

13h00 – Atletico Mineiro vs Shandong Luneng

14h30 – Orlando Pirates vs Atletico Madrid (semi-final 1)

14h45 – Mamelodi Sundowns vs Ferroviario Maputo

16h00 – Club Tijuana vs Bidvest Wits (semi-final 2)

16h15 – Kaizer Chiefs vs Black Aces

Matches played: 18
Goals scored: 40
Biggest victory: Ferroviario Maputo 0 BidVest Wits 4
Most goals in a game: 5 – Torino 4 Ferroviario Maputo 1


4 goals – Shungu Dutiro (BidVest Wits)
3 –
Alessandro Iacuaniello (Torino)
2 –
Andy (Atletico Madrid), Nahuel Jose Busato (Torino), Oscar Clemente (Atletico Madrid), Lyle Foster (Orlando Pirates), Daniel Lopez (Club Tijuana), Agostino Rizzo (Torino), Pitso Tlotlego (Mamelodi Sundowns)

1 – Alerrandro (Atletico Mineiro), Andrew (Atletico Mineiro), Ethan Andrews (BidVest Wits), Katlego Cwinyane (Orlando Pirates), Diego de Carvalho (Black Aces), Sibusiso Dlamini (BidVest Wits), Edgar (Club Tijuana), Murad-Han Gonen (Club Brugge), Igor (Atletico Mineiro), Indio (Atletico Mineiro), Lebohang Lesako (Kaizer Chiefs), Muzomuhle Khanyi (BidVest Wits), Edson Khumalo (BidVest Wits), Changqi Liu (Shandong Luneng), Chaoyang Liu (Shandong Luneng), Thabiso Monyane (Club Brugge), Njabulo Ngcobo (Orlando Pirates), Guille Niero (Atletico Madrid), Luis Sitoe (Ferroviario Maputo)