New PSL executive confirmed


The newly elected National Soccer League executive committee has been confirmed following the quadrennial general meeting held on Wednesday.

Incumbent PSL chairman Irvin Khoza has earned another four-year term in office after he was elected unopposed at the QGM held in Johannesburg – as revealed by on October 29.

Meanwhile, the remaining seven positions on the Exco have been voted for by representatives of the 32 member clubs contesting the premier and first divisions, and were tallied up by independent Pricewaterhouse Coopers auditors.

The nominees for these positions included: Kaizer Motaung Snr, Mato Madlala, John Comitis, Stanley Matthews, David Thidiela, Rejoice Simelane, Khumbulani Konco, Rantsi Mokoena, Robert Benadie, Siviwe Mpengesi, Lawrence Mulaudzi and Rendani Mulaudzi.

Only two changes see former Bidvest Wits CEO and board member Jose Ferreira replaced by Stellenbosch FC CEO Benadie, while Cape Town City chairman Comitis returns in place of Bloemfontein Celtic CEO Konco.

The final selected executive is as follows: Motaung Snr (Kaizer Chiefs), Madlala (Golden Arrows), Comitis (Cape Town City), Matthews (SuperSport United), Thidiela (Black Leopards), Simelane (Mamelodi Sundowns) and Benadie (Stellenbosch FC).

The newly elected executive will serve for the next four years before possible changes will be effected at the 2024 quadrennial general meeting.

It was also proposed by several member club representatives that Madlala continue in her capacity as Acting CEO of the League, a position she has held since 2015, though no confirmation was issued by the chairman.

Check out the previous NSL executive who served under Irvin Khoza

Sinky reveals special help from Khoza

Inside scoop on PSL election race

Khoza reveals 2013 Pitso prediction