Who rules the trophy roost?


But in the ‘professional era’ Kaizer Chiefs rule the roost, coming out top in the medals table in each of the three distinct periods since the advent of the National Professional Soccer League in 1970.

Kick Off’s annual Absa Premiership Yearbook details the honours of each club, and shows how Amakhosi win hands down during each period in a head-to-head with their main rivals, Pirates and Mamelodi Sundowns.

Chiefs were formed in 1970, when Kaizer Motaung (who turns 70 today), headed a breakaway from Orlando Pirates. It was the same year that the NPSL was launched (as the Keg League) and, by the end of that era, in 1984, they were already dominating the trophy haul.


If you can't locate the new Yearbook at your local store, please direct any queries to Riaan Weyers at 021 443 9964 or email him at riaan.weyers@media24.com.


Amakhosi continued amassing silverware following the launch of the National Soccer League in 1985, winning twice as many trophies as the new kids on the block, Sundowns, between then and 1995.

In the PSL era, which began in 1996, both Sundowns and Pirates have won more League titles than Chiefs – but Amakhosi have still won more trophies overall during this period, 18 in total. 

The Yearbook is on sale now – if you want to know more than your mates, and win all the arguments then you need to get it!

Big 3 honours list:

NPSL (1971-1984)
20 – Kaizer Chiefs (5 League, 8 National Cup, 5 Top Eight Cup, 2 League Cup)
12 – Orlando Pirates (4 League, 4 National Cup, 4 Top Eight Cup, 0 League Cup) 

NSL (1985-1995)
14 – Kaizer Chiefs (3 League, 2 National Cup, 6 Top Eight Cup, 3 League Cup)
7 – Mamelodi Sundowns (3 League, 1 National Cup, 2 Top Eight Cup, 1 League Cup)
3 – Orlando Pirates (1 League, 1 National Cup, 1 Top Eight Cup, 0 League Cup)

PSL (1996-2014)
18 – Kaizer Chiefs (3 League, 3 National Cup, 4 Top Eight Cup, 8 League Cup)
12 – Orlando Pirates (4 League, 3 National Cup, 4 Top Eight Cup, 1 League Cup)
10 – Mamelodi Sundowns (6 League, 2 National Cup, 1 Top Eight Cup, 1 League Cup)

READ MORE: History proves Chiefs are cup kings


The KICK OFF Absa Premiership Yearbook (R25.00) is available at all major outlets, and as always includes in-depth statistics of all PSL and First Division players, as well as our stars abroad, Bafana Bafana players and much, much more!