Chiefs still eyeing PSL record books


Amakhosi's sequence of consecutive wins in all competitions since the end of the 2013/14 season came to a halt at 15 after they drew 1-1 with Moroka Swallows on October 22.

READ: Sundowns record still stands

However, in the Absa Premiership alone that draw against the Birds coupled with last night's 2-1 victory over AmaZulu still keeps up an unbeaten League run that stands at 15 right now.

The last time Chiefs lost a League match was on April 9 earlier this year when a 90th-minute Miguel Timm goal gave Mpumalanga Black Aces three points at FNB Stadium as Amakhosi's title challenge faded.

The modern day PSL record for the most matches without defeat in a single League season is 17, achieved by SuperSport United between September 9 and December 12, 2009 on their way to lifting the Absa Premiership title for the second time as well as by Orlando Pirates between August 6, 2004 and January 22, 2005 under Kosta Papic.

Stuart Baxter's Chiefs are now three games from surpassing that total and face Mamelodi Sundowns (22/11), Polokwane City (25/11) and Bidvest Wits (3/12) in their next three League games.

Should they achieve that, the next record they could aim for is their own; the longest unbeaten League run (across seasons) is 31 matches without defeat between January 15 and October 29, 2005 – achieved by Amakhosi on their way to lifting the 2004/05 Absa Premiership title under Ted Dumitru and the start of the 2005/06 season under Ernst Middendorp.


Longest Unbeaten Run in a Single Season (League only)
17 matches – SuperSport United
12/9/09 - 12/12/09
17 matches – Orlando Pirates
6/8/04 - 22/1/05

Longest Unbeaten Run (League only)
31 matches – Kaizer Chiefs
15/1/05 - 29/10/05

Longest Unbeaten Run (All competitions, including CAF)
19 matches – Mamelodi Sundowns


Longest Winning Run in a Single Season (League only)
11 matches – Mamelodi Sundowns

Longest Winning Run in a Single Season (All competitions)
13 matches – Kaizer Chiefs

Longest Domestic Winning Run (Local only)
15 matches – Kaizer Chiefs
2014/15 (including two matches from the end of 2013/14 season)
Sundowns previously held this record with 14 consecutive wins achieved in one season, 2006/07.

READ MORE: History proves Chiefs are cup kings


For all the South African soccer history and records, look no further than the new 2014/15 KICK OFF Yearbook, your MUST-HAVE guide to the domestic game, in stores now!

TEASER: Who rules the trophy roost?