Igesund blends youth and experience


Igesund on Tuesday named his 23-man Bafana Bafana unit, which includes five uncapped players, for a clash in Agadir City on October 11.

The five are: goalkeeper Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United), defender Kgosi Ntlhe (Peterborough FC) and midfielders Sibusiso Vilakazi (Bidvest Wits), Ayanda Patosi (Lokeren FC) and Keagan Dolly (Ajax Cape Town).

Kaizer Chiefs winger Siphiwe Tshabalala misses out through injury, while Igesund did not select any Orlando Pirates players - save for the cup-tied Kermit Erasmus - as they will be playing in the semi-final of the CAF Champions League in Tunisia a few days after Bafana’s return from Morocco.

"We are playing a very formidable team, and you know North African teams are strong and will give us a stern test," Igesund said.

"This is a very serious match for both sides and there is some rivalry in that in our last match we drew 2-2 in the Afcon earlier this year – a match that was voted the best of the Afcon tournament.

"When Morocco invited us to play at the new stadium, we jumped at the opportunity because of the fact that between now and the 2015 Afcon qualifiers there are only two Fifa calendar dates to prepare for those qualifiers.

"So this gives me a great opportunity to have a look at some players, and had we not taken this opportunity we would have had to wait for March 2014 to prepare for our first 2015 Afcon qualifier in September."

The four-time PSL winner added: "Half of the team I selected will represent us in the Chan while the other will feature in the qualfiers, so it’s a two-pronged approach."

Igesund's South Africa-based players will assemble for camp in Johannesburg on October 6, and depart for Morocco the next day.

The overseas-based players will fly directly to Morocco from their various destinations.

Bafana will contest the African Nations Championship (Chan), which is reserved for local-based players, from January 11 to February 1 on home soil next year. 


Goalkeepers: Itumeleng Khune (c) (Kaizer Chiefs), Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United), Darren Keet (KV Kortrijk, Belgium)

Defenders: Anele Ngcongca (Genk, Belgium), Thabo Nthethe (Bloemfontein Celtic), Bongani Khumalo (Doncaster Rovers, English Championship), Tsepo Masilela (Kaizer Chiefs), Buhle Mkhwanazi (University of Pretoria), Siyanda Xulu (FC Rostov, Russia), Kgosi Ntlhe (Peterborough United, English League 1)

Midfielders: Kamohelo Mokotjo (PEC Zwolle, Holland), Bongani Zungu (Mamelodi Sundowns), Sibusiso Vilakazi (Bidvest Wits), Ayanda Patosi (Lokeren, Belgium), Daylon Claasen (Lech Poznan, Poland), Keagan Dolly (Ajax Cape Town), Dean Furman (Doncaster Rovers, English Championship), Kagisho Dikgacoi (Crystal Palace, England), Reneilwe Letsholonyane (Kaizer Chiefs), Lerato Chabangu (Moroka Swallows)

Strikers: Tokelo Rantie (Bournemouth, English Championship), Kermit Erasmus (Orlando Pirates), Bernard Parker (Kaizer Chiefs)