Usuthu clinch seventh straight draw


AmaZulu registered a seventh successive draw after coming back from two goals do to snatch a 2-2 draw against Chippa United in the DStv Premiership on Tuesday afternoon.

Usuthu started Thembela Sikhakhane, Siyanda Khumalo, Philani Zulu, Xola Mlambo, Thabo Qalinge and Andre De Jong, with Chippa giving Thabiso Lebitso a run as the sides met again after three days.

Last season’s runners-up came very close to the lead through Lehlohonolo Majoro’s strong half-volley outside the area that pushed goalkeeper Rashid Watenga to a dramatic palm earlier on.

However, the Chilli Boys had the front foot against the run of play at the midway mark when dilly-dallying on possession by goalkeeper Veli Mothwa saw Bienvenu Eva Nga pounce to profit.

The latter completed a brace inside the half-hour period after he showed Khumalo a clean pair of heels from a loose ball to go and beat Mothwa with a low composed finish.

Whilst Usuthu targeted a quick turnaround, Chippa nearly had a third through the head of Thokozani Sekotlong but De Jong cleared off the line as the winger scuffed another opener late on.

Scroll through the gallery to see where the last 10 PSL Golden Boot winners are now

AmaZulu decided to threw on a substitution five minutes to the halftime period, as Bonginkosi Ntuli entered and Xola Mlambo vacated responsibility.

With the second half underway, Usuthu almost had a quick way back from quick-fire attempts inside the area by Majoro with Luvuyo Memela introduced to effect change.

Usuthu did get to half the advantage in the middle of the second half when Memela got in at the near post of the area to head Majoro’s rasping volley into the far corner.

Memela completed the turnaround in the last nine minutes after he brought a ball into space under control to fire into the bottom-corner after he had opened an angle.

However, Chippa nearly had the lead again from an attempt at a tight angle by Nga but he nestled against the side-netting thus it finished 2-2.

Confirmed line-ups:

AmaZulu: Mothwa, Gumede,  Zulu, Khumalo, Sikhakhane, Qalinge,  Sithebe, Makhaula, Mlambo, Majoro, De Jong.

Subs: Boshoff, Moleko, Malepe, Buchanan, Maduna, Mzava, Moremi, Memela, Ntuli.

Chippa: Watenga, Hanamub, Pietersen, Zulu, Mkhize, Mdlinzo, Mthethwa, Maloisane, Lebitso, Bienvenu, Sekotlong.

Subs: Kazapua, Mdunyelwa, Seabi, De Kock, Maloisane, Hoala, Sangare, September, Mini.