Ruthless Royal AM thrash Galaxy


Royal AM cemented second spot on the DStv Premiership standings after thumping TS Galaxy 4-1 on Saturday afternoon.

Bafana Bafana international Ethan Brooks was named in the Galaxy line-up despite the national team arriving back late this week, as Royal AM welcomed back captain Zukile Mkhize from suspension.

The Rockets looked to settle first minutes following the start, with a few forays which veteran winger Lindokuhle Mbatha nearly tucked away.

Royal AM weren’t concerned by the home side’s threats with the half-hour mark looming and took the lead when a cross by Mkhize from the right-side allowed Victor Letsoalo to head home.

The Bafana Bafana forward doubled his and his team’s tally inside a few minutes after the Rockets battled to keep their defensive lines in a coordinated shape.

Galaxy picked up a lifeline on the cusp of halftime when a foul in the area by Lesego Manganyi on Augustine Kwem ensured a penalty, which the latter converted to reduce AM’s advantage.

Scroll through the gallery to see the 10 most valuable No. 10s in the DStv Premiership

In a rather quiet start to the second half, the Rockets were first to make a substitution minutes gone with Sihle Ndluli removed and Aphelele Teto thrown on the field of play.

The Rockets continued to battle away in contrast to the visitors gunning for more goals, as Brooks vacated the field of play for Lifa Hlongwane.

Royal AM indeed extended their lead in the middle of the second half when a free-kick from Ndumiso Mabena gave Buthelezi no chance whatsoever.

The host looked to claw their way back with the minutes flowing by, but Menzi Ndwandwe and a certain Mbatha fired blanks.

As such, Royal AM added more salt to the wounds of Galaxy when substitute Mfundo Thikazi made it four two minutes into added time and saw the contest to a close.

Confirmed line ups:

Galaxy: Buthelezi, Seedat, Munyai, Sanoka, Msimango, Mbatha, Aubaas, Nduli, Mongae, Brooks, Kwem

Subs: Kolak, Mbunjana, Teto, Lekay, Leon, Mahlangu, Mere, Ndwandwe, Hlongwane

Royal AM: Nyame, Mkhize, Matlaba, Mabena, Nascimento, Mashikinya, Manganyi, Rikhotso, Mahlasela, Macuphu, Letsoalo

Subs: Huegh, George, Thikazi, Pelembe, Potsane, Phalane, Kobedi, Matjila, Ncobeni