Galaxy bounce back with Chippa scalp


TS Galaxy rallied from behind to secure a 3-1 victory over Chippa United in the DStv Premiership on Tuesday evening.

Goalkeeper Marlon Heugh and Given Msimango came in as Galaxy’s changes from their loss to Marumo Gallants FC, whereas Chippa interim coach Kurt Lentjies recalled Zuko Mdunyelwa.

Heugh didn’t cover himself in glory five minutes in when he spilled Mogakolodi Ngele’s low shot from a short corner-kick into the path of Bienvenu Eva Nga for a close-range finish.

That said; parity was restored eleven minutes later after Mthokozisi Mngomezulu reacted sharply to goalkeeper Ayanda Mtshali’s fumble from a low cross to find the back of the net with ease.

The Chilli Boys experienced further heartache on the half-hour mark with a horrific knee injury to Jemondre Dickens on the near side and had Maloisane Mokhele as the replacement.

Chippa managed to finish the half strong regardless with Mokhele’s snap shot forcing Heugh to save for a corner and from the set-play Nga’s header skinned over the top.

Scroll through the gallery to see where the last 10 PSL Golden Boot winners are now

Sead Ramovic threw on a substitution after the break in Wayde Lekay for Mxolisi Macuphu, with the Chilli Boys opting to remain unchanged from the first spell.

Lekay should’ve marked his entry in style minutes later, but he misjudged a low cross from the right-side and consequently missed out on a simple tap-in.

The danger spells continued for Chippa as the second period began to settle, with close-range chances for Tshegofatso Nyama and then Mngomezulu minutes from each other.

Galaxy finally broke the visitors resistance when Menzi Ndwandwe beat Mtshali from the penalty-spot in the last seven minutes after Lekay went tumbling in the area.

The Rockets put a gloss on the tie with a minute to go after Lekay ran in on the far side to apply a solid first-time finish past Mtshwali, as it finished 3-1.

Confirmed line-up:

Galaxy: Huegh, Sanoka, Seedat, Msimango, Munyai, Nduli, Aubaas, Brooks, Nyama, Macuphu, Mngomezulu.

Subs: Van Der Linde, Mbunjana, Mahlangu, Nndwandwe, Lekay, Phohlongo, Kwem, Shelembe, Mahlase.

Chippa: Mtshali, Mdunyelwa, Hanamub, Pietersen, Mkhize, Mdlinzo, Dickens, Zulu, Lebitso, Bienvenu, Ngele, 

Subs: Watenga, Seabi, Maloisane, Mokhele, Matrose, Sekotlong, September, Sangare, De Kock.