Sekhukhune snatch victory at SuperSport


SuperSport United’s inconsistent run in the DStv Premiership continued through a late 1-0 loss to Sekhukhune United, who moved into second spot on Sunday afternoon.

A debut from SuperSport came for Thalente Mbatha with Jamie Webber and Iqraam Rayners the other changes, whilst Sekhukhune started Willard Katsande, Tshediso Patjie and Talent Chawapihwa

Babina Noko were dealt a blow five minutes in when Vusumuzi Ncube walked the plank following a straight red card for an over the top challenge on Rayners.

SuperSport had a player of their own sent off on 16 minutes as the debutant Mbatha saw red for a rash tackle on Cheslyn Jampies.

With the half evenly poised, half-chances became the order of the day in the latter exchanges with Thamsanqa Gabuza’s first-time attempt from a ball in the closest either came to the lead.

Scroll through the gallery to see where the last 10 PSL Golden Boot winners are now

Babina Noko made their first substitution following the start of the second half, with Prince Nxumalo introduced and Mahlangu withdrawn.

SuperSport launched a clear chance to go ahead with over 12 minutes in the restart, but Rayners was unable to find target from a curling strike on the edge of the area.

Sekhukhune had Matsatsantsa’s defence stretched with 20 minutes to go and could’ve been ahead through Nkanyiso Madonsela’s close-range shot but Ronwen Williams saved for a corner-kick. From the corner, Williams kept the tie scoreless with a point-blank save to keep out a towering header from Katsande.

Babina Noko received their just rewards two minutes from time after Patjie ran clear of the defence to slot past Williams.

McDonald Makhubedu’s men remained calm inside the closing stages to see out the win and second spot in the process.

Confirmed line-ups:

SuperSport: Williams, Philipps, Johannes, Ditlhowke, Bhasera, Mbatha, Donn, Webber, Rayners, Lungu, Gabuza.

Subs: Pule, Nhlapo, Moralo, Rasebotja, Waiswa, Grobler

Sekhukhune: Nsabata, Mobbie, Maart, Motsepe, Gyimah, Katsande, Jampies, Patjie, Mahlangu, Mncube, Chawapihwa.

Subs: Kapini, Matona, Parusnath, Mandonsela, Rakhale, Shai, Nxumalo, Sibanyoni, Sarupinda.

City depart FNB, Chiefs fail to show up

Arrows secure back-to-back wins

Swallows end 3-game losing streak