Arrows sink Stellies to climb third


Golden Arrows jumped to third spot in the DStv Premiership with an impressive 3-1 victory away to Stellenbosch FC on Friday evening.

Sage Stephens entered in place of Lee Langeveldt in the home side’s goal, whilst Lindokuhle Mtshali and Danny Phiri came in as Arrows’ two changes from the loss to AmaZulu in the Nedbank Cup.

Abafana Besthende hit the front in the first 15 minutes when poor control from Sandile Mthethwa allowed Pule Mmodi to sneak in and curl into the bottom-corner.

Quick inter-change of passes from the host a little later nearly led to the equaliser, but Stanley Dimgba failed to profit with his attempt missing target.

However, Arrows came close to a second a minute before the half-hour mark through Knox Mutizwa following a good move, but Robyn Johannes hurried back to clear off the goal-line.

Stellies decided to re-shuffle their pack with five minutes to halftime after struggling to find rhythm, as Mthethwa made way for Leletu Skelem.

The visitors doubled their tally ten minutes into the second half when Mutizwa beat the offside trap to go out wide before playing a low cross for Michael Gumede to tap home.

Stellenbosch looked for a lifeline minutes thereafter with a quick ball up-field bringing Ryan Moon to a crack at goalkeeper Sifiso Mlungwana, but he fired well wide.

Abafana Besthende’s lead was eventually halved midway in the second half with a thumping strike from outside the area by Junior Mendieta.

Mandla Ncikazi’s side however restored their two-goal advantage inside the last 12 minutes after Gumede bagged a brace with a smart finish from the far post.

Arrows could’ve added to their tally towards full-time following a few half-chances, but in the end settled for a 3-1 victory to go into third spot.

Confirmed line-ups:

Stellies: Stephens, van Heerden, Mthethwa, Robertson, Johannes, Sinkala, Adams, van Rooyen, Mendieta, du Preez, Dimgba

Subs: Pool, Macheke, Nange, Scott, Moon, Mbekile, de Goede, Skelem, Brenner

Arrows: Mlungwana,  Lunga, Sibisi, Zuke, M.Dube, Mmodi, Phiri, Mtshali, Parusnath,  M.Gumede, Mutizwa. 

Subs: N.Gumede, Nkombelo, Sabelo, Ndlovu, L.Dube, Conco, Shitolo, Sibiya, Ndwandwe.