Stellies add to Baroka's relegation woes


Stellenbosch FC ended a seven-match winless run in the DStv Premiership with a 1-0 triumph over Baroka FC on Saturday afternoon.

Stellenbosch had two changes from their last match in Robyn Johannes and Stanley Dimgba, and Kgoloko Thobejane named two new faces as well in Basil Mphahlele and Evidence Makgopa.

Bakgaga Ba Ga Mphahlele endured the vibrant start minutes after kickoff and were very close to the lead when Thamsanqa Masiya volleyed a ball from the left over the top.

It continued to go the way of the Limpopo side later on, as Richard Mbulu blasted a teasing ball from out wide well over the top much to the frustrations of Thobejane on the touchline.

Stellenbosch started to show face in the closing stages of the half and began to cut open Bakgaga, but the accuracy to goal from Deano Van Rooyen and Junior Mendieta wasn’t forthcoming.

Scroll through the gallery to see eight of the retired jersey numbers in the PSL

With Stellies bringing on Ashley Du Preez for Dimgba, Bakgaga squandered another chance minutes from halftime as Bennet Bobete drilled a layoff on the edge of the area from Mbulu over target.

Bakgaga’s profligacy in front of goal continued with over 60 minutes played when Nhlanhla Mgaga directed a cutback from the centre of the area by Mbulu narrowly wide of the bottom-corner.

Stellenbosch struggled to carve out chances in the last 15 minutes, with Mbulu close to the breakthrough again from an overhead kick in the area this time around.

With that though, the Maroons had the lead nine minutes from time after a strike outside the area by Solomon Letsoenyo nestled into the top corner.

Bakgaga pushed for the equaliser in the final minutes of play, but were undone by their inaccuracy in front of goal as the contest finished.

Confirmed line-ups:

Stellenbosch: Stephens, De Goede, Johannes, Mcaba, Van Rooyen, Sinkala, Letsoenyo, Jabaar, Dimgba, Isaacs, Mendieta.

Subs: Bombay, Zuma, Robertson, Andries, Van Heerden, Moseamedi, Khunyedi, Van Wyk, Du Preez.

Baroka: Masuluke, Mphahlele, Sibiya, Mbulu, Sithole, Kambala, Masiya, Ngubane, Makgopa, Bobete, Farmer.

Subs: Chipezeze, Goldstone, Mgaga, Dlala, Chauke, Ndhlovu, Moabelo, Kgositsile.