Sekhukune hold SuperSport at Ellis Park


Sekhukhune United and SuperSport United could not be separated on Saturday evening after playing to a goalless draw at Ellis Park Stadium.

Sekhukhune brought in Justice Chabalala, Tlotlo Leepile, Charlton Mashumba and Seth Parusnath from the loss to Kaizer Chiefs, as United named Teboho Mokoena and Luke Fleurs on the bench.

Babina Noko started quietly and could’ve fallen behind on three minutes from a floating ball into the area by Jamie Webber, but it was headed over target by defender Kegan Johannes.

The slow spell continued and allowed Matsatsantsa to launch another scare five minutes later after Ghampani Lungu flashed the foot of the post from a tight angle following a through pass.

Although the promising signs started appearing for the host minutes to the half-hour mark this as a glancing header in the area from Mashumba forced goalkeeper Baolefa Pule to a save.

It seemingly didn’t bother Matsatsantsa because Selaelo Rasebotja raced through on the stroke of halftime and side-footed a low pass from Lungu way over target.

Sekhukhune refreshed matters ahead of the resumption, as Vusimuzi Mncube replaced Parusnath to Talent Chawapiwa sacrificed and Tshediso Patjie introduced.

It energized them minutes in the second period when a ball to the centre of the area from Patjie watched Prince Nxumalo bring the rear-guard to stout defensive displays.

SuperSport were back in the contest closer to the last 20 minutes, as Rasebotja worked an angle from a tight area to flash a low shot wide of the near corner.

Both sides were reduced to long-range shots following the closing stages in desperate search of the winner, but it stayed goalless.

Confirmed line-ups:

Sekhukhune: Nsabata, Mobbie, Maart, Chabalala, Gyimah, Parusnath, Jampies, Leepile, Mashumba, Nxumalo, Chawaphiwa.

Subs: Kapini, Matona, Mbonani, Madonsela, Katsande, Molaba, Mahlangu, Patjie, Mncube.

SuperSport: Pule,  Philipps, Johannes, Ditlhokwe, Bhasera, Waiswa, Webber, Matodzi, Rasebotja, Lungu, Gabuza.

Subs: Chigova,  Fleurs, Mokoena, Kurata, Maziko