Galaxy clinch vital win over Maritzburg


TS Galaxy moved off the foot of the DStv Premiership table with a 3-0 drubbing over Maritzburg United on Wednesday evening.

United decided to go for one change from the side that held AmaZulu over the weekend, as Tebogo Tlolane returned whilst Galaxy opted for Marlon Heugh in goal.

Following a slight stoppage in the opening 20 minutes where referee Thando Ndzandzeka battled with a niggling injury, the match possessed a nervy approach from the respective outfits.

Galaxy bagged the opener towards the final ten minutes of the first half through a clever finish from the near post by Wayde Lekay following a pass from Lindokuhle Mbatha.

The Team of Choice were breached again minutes later, but goalkeeper Jethren Barr managed to come to their rescue with a superb save off a close-range effort by Mxolisi Macuphu.

Ernst Middendorp rang the changes in the second half, with Thabiso Kutumela, Fares Hachi and Bandile Shandu were taken off as Jose Ali Meza, Daylon Claasen and Daniel Morgan were introduced.

The Rockets bagged a second goal soon following the restart when Macuphu played in Mbatha who took the delivery in his stride to apply a solid finish past Barr.

Macuphu could’ve reserved roles minutes later from a ball on the left-side by Mbatha, but the former Chippa United forward saw the chance go astray.

The Team of Choice looked for a glimmer of hope on 62 minutes through a ferocious strike on the turn from Judas Moseamedi, but Galaxy goalkeeper Heugh smothered.

Galaxy grabbed a third in the latter minutes through a well-taken free-kick from Felix Badenhorst following a foul around the area.

Middendorp’s side looked for a consolation late on through Morgan, but Heugh smothered to see his side to victory.

Confirmed line-ups:

Maritzburg: Barr, Allie, Daniels, Hachi, Kutumela, Buchanan, Graham, Shandu, Tlolane, Ismail, Moseamedi.

Subs: Mpandle, De Reuck, Sanoka, Mngonyama, Modise,  Hlongwane, Meza, Claasen, Morgan.

Galaxy: Heugh, Modisane, Fransman, M.Mahlangu, Mokoena, Mbunjana, Aubaas, Mbatha, Matlala, Lekay, Macuphu.

Subs: V. Der Linde, Letsholonyane, Badenhorst, Wambi, Nduli, Bodibe, S.Mahlangu.