Stellies clinch a point at Maritzburg


Maritzburg United and Stellenbosch FC could not be separated after playing to a goalless draw in the DStv Premiership on Sunday evening.

Two changes from Stellies saw Moegamad De Goede and Judas Moseamedi start, with just one change in Leletu Skelem from the Team of Choice.

Stellies targeted a positive start three minutes in from a free-kick by Junior Mendieta after Ashley Du Preez succumbed to a challenge, but goalkeeper Marcel Engelhardt saved.

The Team of Choice possessed the larger part of possession following the opening minutes, but the visitors were able to court their every move and threat.

Although, the tough and congested battle across all departments of the field continued well inside the closing stages of the match with chances reduced to a premium.

Stellenbosch looked to alter the complexity of play ahead of the second half, as Antonio Van Wyk came on for the services of Athenkosi Mcaba.

Van Wyk livened up matters nine minutes from coming on and a spell of quick passes between Mendieta and Du Preez led the former to a shot that Engelhardt battered away.

As the two outfits continued to battle away, the match was halted near the closing stages due to a floodlight failure and the match resumed following a lengthy wait to get the lights running again.

Stellies were quick off the mark following the restart with Waseem Isaacs’ volley from a ball over the top by Mendieta going narrowly wide.

The Team of Choice continued to find the going tough and had Mendieta putting the ball in the back of the net, but he was flagged for offside.

Just as the two teams began to settle following the stoppage, the lights went out again but upon resumption had Solly Khunyedi whisked a rasping shot from a tight angle narrowly wide.

However, it finished goalless in the end as the two sides failed to get back on the winning trail in the Premiership.

Confirmed line-ups:

Maritzburg: Engelhardt, Claasen, Ndengane, Ritchie, Human, Ntshangase, Skelem, Graham, Kewuti, Hlongwane and Theron.

Subs: Petersen, McDonald, Daniels, Soukouna, Dlamuka, Ismail, Cele and Bhengu.

Stellenbosch: Stephens, Kwinika, Mcaba, Van Rooyen, Letsoenyo, De Geode, Jabaar, Sinkala, Moseamedi, Du Preez, Mendieta

Subs: Bombay, Titus, Mthethwa, Isaacs, Khunyedi, Robertson, Johannes, Van Wyk, Van Heerden