Chiefs bag third straight league win


Kaizer Chiefs claimed their third victory in a row with a 3-0 win over Tshakhuma Tsha Madzivhandila at FNB Stadium on Tuesday.

Kgotso Moleko came in for Siyabonga Ngezana, Darrel Matsheke replaced Kearyn Baccus and Leonardo Castro was preferred to Happy Mashiane in Chiefs' three changes to the starting XI.

Chiefs were looking a confident outfit in the opening exchanges and had their first attempt when a cross into the box was headed out to Daniel Cardoso on the edge of the box and the Amakhosi anchorman's volley was well-struck one but wide.

The Amakhosi suffered an early blow when skipper Ramahlwe Mphahlele was forced off with injury and replaced by Njabulo Blom, with Cardoso dropping back into the heart of the defence and Blom joining Darrel Matsheke in the centre of the park.

The hosts deservedly took the lead through Nkosingiphile Ngcobo, who grabbed his second goal in as many games. Samir Nurkovic held the ball up from a long throw and flicked it to the back post for Ngcobo, who flicked the ball up and over Nicholas Lukhubeni before rifling the volley home into the back of the net emphatically.

It was a good start to the second half for Chiefs. Bernard Parker, who had come on as a half-time substitute for Dumisani Zuma, whipped in a free-kick from the left-hand side and Nurkovic headed it narrowly over from close range when he would have perhaps felt he should have done better.

The hosts suffered another injury blow when Ngcobo was stretchered off and replaced by Mashiane, while Lebohang Lesako was introduced in place of Castro.

Mashiane made an instant impact setting up Chiefs' second goal with a superb cross for Lebogang Manyama to sidefoot into the back of the net at the back post.

TTM were reduced to 10 men in the 83rd minute when Alfred Ndengane received his second yellow card with seven minutes to go.

Chiefs put the nail in the coffin in the 90th minute when Mashiane also netted his second goal in as many games when Manyama threaded a lovely pass through for the Amakhosi youngster, who produced a composed finish into the top left-hand corner.

There was still time for second-half sub Parker to pick up a second yellow as the Amakhosi were also reduced to 10 men in the closing stages.

Confirmed line-ups:

Chiefs: Akpeyi, Moleko, Cardoso, Zulu, Mphahlele, Matsheke, Agay, Ngcobo, Zuma, Castro, Nurkovic

Subs: Bvuma, Parker, Ngezana, Manyama, Blom, Baccus, Sasman, Mashiane, Lesako

TTM: Arubi, Lukhubeni, Ndengane, Mabotja, Nkili, Ndlondlo, Maphangule, Theron, Rakhale, Manaka, Lamola

Subs: Mhlongo, Thangwane, Timm, Ravhuhali, Ngema, Monde, Nevhulamba, Mudau, Nedzamba

Celtic hold Downs to goalless draw