Ngcobo inspires to Chiefs to victory


Kaizer Chiefs reclaimed second spot on their return to action in the DStv Premiership with a 2-0 win over Sekhukhune United on Sunday evening.

Back from a two-week absence, Chiefs featured Siyabonga Ngezana, Thabani Dube, Siphosakhe Ntiya-Ntiya, Njabulo Blom, Nkosingiphile Ngcobo and Leonardo Castro as their six changes.

Chiefs came close to go ahead after ten minutes from a deep-rooted corner-kick, but Daniel Cardoso directed the supply well over target following a run in at the back-post.

Babina Noko weren’t troubled and with the midway period they watched a snap shot on the edge of the area from Thabo Rakhale leave goalkeeper Daniel Akpeyi at full stretch.

However, it was the Amakhosi who broke the deadlock when Ngcobo dropped a shoulder outside the area to fire in off the post and into the net five minutes from the half-hour mark.

Babina Noko looked to go into halftime level pegging, but had the Amakhosi closed shop to go into the break well in front.

Scroll through the gallery to see the most ill-disciplined teams in the DStv Premiership this season

Chiefs continued to show dominance after the break and closed in on a second through Blom from a tight angle before Dube flashed a header from a free-kick narrowly wide.

With Babina Noko piling on the pressure, the Amakhosi looked to consolidate matters in the closing phases as a double change in Eric Mathoho and Kgaogelo Sekgota came.

Sekgota nearly made a telling impact moments after coming on when he drifted in-field from the left to get a shot away, which Toaster Nsabata spilled with Castro unable to meet the rebound.

The former Swallows FC man was at it again five minutes from time as he pounced on a back-pass from Nsabata, feed Ngcobo who in-turn released Phathutshedzo Nange to fire in the second.

The Glamour Boys then comfortably wrapped up matters in the closing seconds to reclaim second spot on the table.

Confirmed line-ups:

Chiefs: Akpeyi, Ngezana, Dube, Cardoso, Ntiya-Ntiya, Frosler, Blom, Nkosingiphile Ngcobo, Mashiane, Parker, Castro.

Subs: Bvuma, Mathoho, Nange, Mabiliso, Njabulo Ngcobo, Sekgota, McCarthy, Shabalala, Milazi.

Sekhukhune: Nsabata, Mobbie, Maart, Motsepe, Gyimah, Katsande, Jampies, Patjie, Rakhalke, Nxumalo, Chawapihwa.

Subs: Kapini, Matona, Chabalala, Madonsela, Parusnath, Sithole, Molaba, Mahlangu, Sibanyoni.