Chiefs denied second spot by Arrows


Kaizer Chiefs missed the chance to move second on the DStv Premiership table after a 1-0 loss to Golden Arrows on Saturday evening.  

Chiefs made two changes from their win over Orlando Pirates, one enforced, as shot-stopper Bruce Bvuma took the place of the injured Brandon Petersen, with Itumeleng Khune not in the squad, while Samir Nurkovic was recalled.

Amakhosi had a horrible start after a back pass by Eric Mathoho in the fourth minute sent Knox Mutizwa through on goal, who gave Arrows the lead with a chipped effort over Bvuma, who was out of his area.

Stuart Baxter's charges were playing a high line and they were nearly punished on a transition in the 25th minute after Pule Mmodi went through on goal from Mutizwa's pass but Bvuma blocked his shot narrowly wide.

The Glamour Boys gained the attacking momentum after that and Phathutshedzo Nange came close to snatching the equaliser just before the half-time break with a volleyed shot in the box that produced a stunning save from goalkeeper Nkosingiphile Gumede.

Scroll through the gallery to see the 10 most valuable No. 10s in the DStv Premiership

Baxter changed his system to a back-three with a double change at halftime, as Mathoho made way for Thabani Dube while Siyabonga Ngezana replaced Nange.

Amakhosi had a better control of the game going forward, as a result and Bernard Parker had a chance to get the equaliser on the hour-mark with a free header in the box that was smothered by Gumede.

However, Chiefs were running out of steam upfront in the closing stages and Baxter withdrew Keagan Dolly and Khama Billiat as they were replaced by Nkosingiphile Ngcobo and Sabelo Radebe.

The changes gave the hosts new energy going forward but Arrows defended deep in the closing stages and held on to beat Amakhosi for the first time since 2018.

Confirmed line-ups:

Chiefs: Bvuma, Mathoho, Cardoso, Njabulo Ngcobo, Frosler, Blom, Nange, Parker, Dolly, Billiat, Nurkovic.

Subs: Akpeyi, Manyama, Dube, Ngezana, Baccus, Zuma, Nkosingiphile Ngcobo, Mashiane, Radebe

Arrows: N. Gumede, Sibisi, Ndlovu, Mantshiyane, Sibiya, Mutizwa, Dlamini, L. Dube., Cele, Zuke, Mmodi

Subs: Mbaeva, Fikizolo, Conco, Magawana, Mtshali, Nxadi, Ndwandwe, Magubane, M. Gumede.

Nodada's late strike sends CT City fifth

OFFICIAL! Downs clinch top spot in CCL group

Verdict handed down in Chiefs DC case