Gallants sink Chippa in five-goal thriller


Marumo Gallants FC struck late in the second half to secure a 3-2 victory over Chippa United in the DStv Premiership on Saturday afternoon.

Chippa made two changes from their clash with Royal AM in goalkeeper Lloyd Kazapua and Sandile Mthethwa, while Gallants gave Tshepo Gumede a first start in the defence.

Bahlabane Ba Ntwa made a slow entry in the opening 15 minutes and almost conceded from a cutback by Bienvenu Eva Nga, but Peter Maloisane misguided the cross wide of the target.

Although, Dan Malesela’s men began to question the host capabilities ten minutes apart and had Mpho Mvelase head a pin-point delivery following a free-kick against the upright.

Marumo went ahead four minutes later after Ndabayithethwa Ndlondlo broke through the high-defensive lines of Chippa to go level with Kazapua before picking out the bottom corner.

Chippa brought matters level nine minutes to halftime after a quick break away led by Kazapua and Maloisane released Nga for an easy finish from point-blank range.

Scroll through the gallery to see the 10 oldest goalscorers in the PSL this season

Chippa coach Kurt Lentjies made a double substitution following the restart, with Tebogo Makobela in for Thabiso Lebitso and Maloisane Mokhele introduced ahead of Thokozani Sekotlong.

The Chilli Boys went ahead for the first time five minutes after halftime when Nga connected with a cross right of the area and headed beyond the reach of goalkeeper Washington Arubi.

Bahlabane Ba Ntwa regained maintained momentum a little before the closing quarter and were close to the equaliser when Katlego Otladisa curled off the upright from a short-passing move.

Marumo’s persistence was rewarded in the last eight minutes as a ball in the area coincided with a hand and as such the awarding of a penalty-kick, which Ndlondlo tucking home to restore parity.

The visitors snatched the victory at the death when Joseph Molangoane ran late into the area to tap home Sede Dion’s low cross, as Chippa rue another collapse from a winning position.

Confirmed line-ups:

Chippa: Kazapua, Hanamub, Pietersen, Maloisane, Bienvenu, Sekotlong, Mdlinzo, Zulu, Lebitso, Sandile, Luthuli.

Subs: Watenga, Seabi, Mokhele, Ngele, Makobela, September, Mbenyane, Sangare, Pfumbidzai.

Marumo: Arubi, Mvelase, Gumede, Mabotja, Nonyane, Timm, Dion, Otladisa, Ngema, Ndlondlo, Molangoane.

Subs: Ndlovu, Khiba, Lamola, Mnyamane, Nhlapo, Mphambaniso, Sibeko, Kumalo, Kgoetyane.