Celtic end eight-game winless streak


Bloemfontein Celtic ended an eight-game winless run in all competitions with a 1-0 victory over Tshakhuma Tsha Madzivhandila at Dr Molemela Stadium on Saturday.

The game saw an early goal as Celtic took the lead with just two minutes gone. TTM were caught sleeping at the back as Motebang Sera escaped the attention of Tebogo Thangwane and Ayanda Nkili and headed Siwelele in front.

TTM were struggling to find space in this match against Celtic's narrow defending. Lerato Lamola was yet to find space to use his speed against his former club.

Celtic seemed content with their lead and were not getting a lot of bodies forward to support Sera and Harris Tchilimbou.

Joel Masutha would have been considering some creative changes at the break with Joseph Malongoane, Meshack Maphangule and Thabo Mnyamane on the bench.

In the 51st minute, Rhulani Manzini struck a long-range shot. He got power behind the effort but it sailed over the bar for TTM.

Celtic were reduced to ten men in the 62nd minute. Ronald Pfumbidzai, who had already been booked, dived in on Thabo Rakhale and was shown a second yellow card.

John Maduka immediately made a change and withdrew striker Sera and brought on Sifiso Ngobeni at left wingback to shut up shop.

Celtic made a double change four minutes later. Victor Letsoalo came in for Tchilimbou up front and Boy de Jongh replaced Siphelele Luthuli to strengthen midfield.

And in the end Maduka's side would show impressive resilience to see the game out and move up to 12th position in the league standings.

Confirmed line-ups:

Celtic:  Chaine,  Baloyi, Chabalala, Lingwati, Rikhotso, Pfumbidzai, Phalane, Tchilimbou,  Sera, Fikizolo, Luthuli.

Subs: Mpoto, De Jong, Masuku, Ngobeni, Letsoalo, Mashikinya, Ndwandwe, Mahashe, Potsane.

TTM: Arubi, Theron, Thangwane, Ravhuhali, Nkili, Timm,  Ngema, Manzini, Rakhale, Manaka, Lamola

Subs: Mamudzidi, Mabotja, Ndlondlo, Malongoane, Maphangule, Mnyamane, Nedzamba