AmaZulu reveal 2020/21 award winners


AmaZulu have announced the club award winners from their record-setting 2020/21 season as they finished in second position in the DStv Premiership.

Goalkeeper Veli Mothwa was a big winner on the day with no less than two awards including the Player of the Season which was voted by the entire technical team, players, Usuthu staff and fans.

He wasn't the only player to win multiple honours with tireless midfielder Makhehlene Makhaula scooping the most valuable player and the Players' Player of the Season.

AmaZulu award winners in full:

  • The AmaZulu Player of the Season: Veli Mothwa
  • Players' Player of the Season: Makhehlene Makhaula
  • Most Valuable Player: Makhehlene Makhaula
  • Playmaker of the Year: Augustine Mulenga
  • President's award: Makhehlene Makhaula
  • Best Player of DStvDiski: Lindani Shange
  • The Top Marksman: Lehlohonolo Majoro
  • Top Scorer of DStvDiski: Lindo Zungu
  • Most Improved Player: Tapelo Xoki
  • Usuthu Spirt: Siyethemba Sithebe
  • Golden Glove: Veli Mothwa

Usuthu will be challenging in the 2021/22 Total CAF Champions League for the first time in the club's history under the tutelage of head coach Benni McCarthy.

Benni confirms two new signings

Benni chops AmaZulu midfielder

AmaZulu refute McCarthy exit talk