Usuthu end Downs' unbeaten run


Pitso Mosimane made six changes from the side that lost 2-1 to Chippa United on Saturday, as Ricardo Nascimento, Anthony Laffor, Hlompho Kekana, Tiyani Mabunda, Gaston Sirino and Lebohang Maboe returned to the line up.

Maboe had a great chance to send Masandawana ahead in the third minute after Laffor whipped in a decent cross, but the former Maritzburg United forward guided his header over the bar.

Kekana almost gave the hosts the lead in the 18th minute after latching on a loose ball inside the box but instead of picking his spot, he went for power and fired wide.

The visitors got the breakthrough ten minutes before the break thanks to an own goal by Tebogo Langerman, who’s attempted clearance sailed into his own net, with Denis Onyango left helpless.

Kekana and Gaston Sirino had opportunities to bring Sundowns level before the interval, but AmaZulu shot-stopper Mbatha proved his worth with a couple fine saves to keep the league champions at bay.

Mosimane made his first change immediately at the start of the second stanza by introducing Jeremy Brockie for Laffor.

Ovidy Karuru almost doubled the lead for Johnson’s men ten minutes into the second stanza after he unleashed a powerful strike that was impressively saved by shot-stopper Denis Onyango. The Zimabwean was not to be denied on 66 minute after rising the highest inside the box to power a header past Onyango.

Mosimane went for broke as in the 71st minute, as he brought on Jose Ali Meza for Mabunda, while Langerman made for Lyle Lakay two minutes later.

The Sundowns changed could not prove successful as they struggled to carve out a clear-cut opening in the remaining stages of the second half.

Johnson’s troops remained resolute in the closing stages to claim three points and the clean sheet, while they also ended Sundowns 28-game unbeaten in the league.


Sundowns: Onyango, Ngcongca, Nascimento, Lebusa, Langerman, Kekana, Mabunda, Laffor, Zwane, Maboe, Sirino.

Subs: Pieterse, Brockie, Manyisa, Meza, Lakay, Mkhulise, Coetzee.

AmaZulu: Mbatha, M.Gumede, Sikhakhane, P.Gumede, Nyongo, Morton, Darpoh, Sithebe, Ncobeni, Karuru, Ntuli.

Subs: Josephs, Ouro-Akoriko, Maduna, Dlamini, Ramphela, Tade, Cele.