Maritzburg clinch third straight win


Maritzburg United moved into the top eight following a 1-0 win over struggling Cape Town City in an Absa Premiership clash on Friday.

City welcomed three changes from their Telkom Knockout exit, with Thamsanqa Mkhize returning to earn his 100th appearance along with Keanu Cupido and Fagrie Lakay.

The Citizens started a bit on the back foot as Mxolisi Kunene flashed agonizingly wide of the left post 20 minutes gone following a cross from the near post.

Pressure from City continued falling two minutes to the half-hour mark, but Kermit Erasmus went inches wide of the post after firing from outside the danger area.

United received a penalty after Ebrahim Seedat was flagged for handling in the area on the stroke of halftime, giving Thabiso Kutumela the opportunity to send Peter Leeuwenburgh the wrong way.

The second half got off to a slow start, with City pushing for an immediate equaliser while United aimed to hang onto their ascendancy.

City also made a double change during the break in Roland Putsche and Shane Abrahams, who replaced Mpho Makola and Mark Mayambela respectively.

The Citizens broke past the opposing defensive patterns from the visitors, but Richard Ofori accompanied by his defence monitored and stifled every threat.

Time began running out for City afterwards as chances continued going astray with Erasmus and Edmilson Dove particularly guilty of clear misses.

Eric Tinkler’s charges dropped deep and applied a counterattacking approach, though the side was put to more defending than attacking in the grant scheme of things.

Tinkler’s men picked their fourth successive win at the end to go into the top eight for the first time this season, as City’s dismal run of form continues.


City: Leeuwenburgh, Mkhize, Fielies, Cupido, Edmilson, Mokeke, Nodada, Makola, Lakay, Mayambela, Erasmus.

Subs: Stephens, Mthembu, Abrahams, Seedat, Putsche, Kewuti, Martin.

Maritzburg: Ofori, Xulu, Kunene, Morgan, De Reuck, Allie, Mngonyama, Classen, Shandu, Kutumela, Brockie.

Subs: Mpandle, Sanoka, Moseamedi, Mekoa, Buchanan, Nyoni, Sangweni.