Vodacom League changes announced


Significantly, for the first time, two teams from each of the country’s nine provinces will participate in the national play offs due to take place from May 18-24.

Zach Masetle, Safa’s Director of Competitions, said that apart from the winners of each stream, teams that finish their League campaign in second place, will also take part in the tournament for this season only – to celebrate 10 seasons of the Vodacom League.

“The current status is that all the nine provincial winners shall be subjected to a promotional play-off at a venue to be determined between the two partners as approved by the Safa National Competitions Committee,” he says.

“Teams will be divided into two streams of five Inland teams from the Free State, Gauteng Limpopo Mpumalanga and North West and four Coastal teams from the Eastern Cape, KwaZulu Natal, Northern Cape and Western Cape.

Each stream will participate separately for the entire week, and have two finalists, Coastal and Inland, on the final day of the tournament.”

Both finals are scheduled to take place on Saturday, May 24.

The Inland Final kicks off at 12h00, with the Coastal Final due for 15h00. The rules of extra time and direct penalties will be applied, if necessary.

In addition, Masetle also mentioned the possibility of having a National Second Division for the 2008/09 season.

“This was approved by the National Competitions Committee, pending approval or acquisition of partners for the new League system.

“The current nine provincial leagues are not going to be affected as the National League is expected to be self-sufficient and will be run by the Safa Provincial Executive Councils.

“Regarding the Nedbank Cup qualification – determination is by Safa competitions. All teams participating are playing the provincial finals on Wednesday, January 16,” he added.