Nine schools vying for McDonalds title


The national finals will take place at the Sinaba Stadium in Daveyton from Thursday until Saturday.

The fourth edition of the tournament will see a first-time winner being crowned after Gauteng-based Johannesburg Secondary School dominated the first three editions since 2010.

This year, Gauteng’s new representative, Bophelo, will be joined Oval North Secondary (Western Cape), Kimberley Boys High (Northern Cape), Qhilika (KwaZulu Natal), Mtlobomi Combined School (Limpopo), Retshidisitswe Secondary School (Free State), Coromandel Primary School (Mpumalanga), Sol Plaatjie Secondary School (North West) and Vulamazibuko Primary School (Eastern Cape).

SASFA President Mandla ‘Shoes’ Mazibuko is pleased with how the tournament has progressed since the beginning of the provincial finals in Mthatha, Eastern Cape, on July 20.

“We have reached the pinnacle of this spectacular undertaking that seeks to foster team work, drive community spirit whilst creating dreams for the players to aspire to reach the next level, being the entry to National Junior teams,” Mazibuko said.

The finalists will be decided through a series of round robin games which will take place on Thursday and Friday, with the 3rd/4th place playoff and the Final scheduled for Saturday.