Philippi United shock Bucs in Bayhill final

The first-half saw the Cape side, who are NFD club Chippa United’s development team, holding their own in an evenly-balanced opening stanza.

The second half also failed to produce any clear-cut goal chances as both teams appeared to lack the energy to push forward in attack with purpose, possibly suffering fatigue after six straight days of football. It was the same case during extra time, until with three minutes to go, Mzandile Magqwaka managed to bundle the ball the ball over the line after a goal-mouth scramble, completing a remarkable weekend for the tournament debutants.

Earlier in the day, Bucs accounted for Santos’ hopes with a 2-1 victory over the Cape side. Tshepo Liphoko was on the score-sheet again for Bucs, following his winner over Sundowns in the quarter-finals on Sunday, with Sakhile Ngubo grabbing Pirates’ other goal.

Philippi United meanwhile had continued their dream run all the way to the final by beating Stars of Africa 1-0, thanks to Tapelo Sixishe’s solitary strike.

The Plate Final was won by ASD Cape Town (last year’s losing finalists), while Sundowns won the mid-section final.

Roads to the Final:

Orlando Pirates

Round robin Orlando Pirates 1-0 Hanover Park ASD Cape Town 1-1 Orlando Pirates Orlando Pirates 3-1 City Lovers

Last 16 Orlando Pirates 2–0 Golden Arrows

Quarter-finals Mamelodi Sundowns 0–1 Orlando Pirates

Semi-finals Orlando Pirates 2-1 Santos

Philippi United

Round Robin Philippi United 3-0 Idas Valley Santos 0-0 Philippi United Mpumalanga Black Aces 0–2 Philippi United

Last 16 SuperSport United 0(3)-0(5) Philippi United

Quarter-finals University of Pretoria (TUKS) 1–4 Philippi United

Semi-finals Stars of Africa 0–1 Philippi United


Player of the Tournament: Tshepo Liphoko (Pirates) Top goal scorer: Brandon Theron (Stars of Africa) Goalkeeper of the Tournament: Nkala Ntando (Pirates)