John Obi Mikel believes the Super Eagles were denied blatant penalty against Argentina, after the ball struck defender Marcus Rojo, shortly before he netted a dramatic late winner in St Petersberg.
The African giants looked poised for a last-16 berth of Russia 2018 after responding positively to an early opener from Lionel Messi.
Victor Moses restored parity after coolly slotting home from the penalty spot, but could have been given the chance to put the game beyond doubt from 12 yards had the match officials not waved away the handball protests.
"I don't understand how that wasn't a penalty, for me it was a clear handball," he said, according to FourFourTwo.
"It was a clear penalty. Maybe the referee has given the first penalty and doesn't want to give a second one.
"But a penalty is a penalty. He (the referee) looked at the VAR, (we asked him) did the ball hit the hand? He said 'yes', but why it's not a penalty? I don't understand."