Letsholonyane on Cloud Nine


Letsholonyane is among the 23 players called up by Bafana coach Joel Santana for the first time into the squad. Others include Bloemfontein Celtic goalkeeper Shuaib Walters, SuperSport United defender Morgan Gould and Santos’ striker Eleazar Rodgers.

Speaking to KickOff.com a few minutes after receiving news of the call up, Letsholonyane expressed his excitement, adding that the good news about his best achievement had yet to sink into his heart.

“Just a few days ago I won the Cup with Chiefs, and now it’s a Bafana Bafana call up. It’s just unbelievable!

“I have been working hard to help my team perform well and to get the attention of the Bafana selectors, but I have never expected this to come so early.”

The Amakhosi midfielder said the call up would act as a great motivator to continue working hard to improve his game.

“I was performing well at (Jomo) Cosmos but the new environment at Chiefs has helped me a lot in terms of improving my game. There are still aspects of my game that I need to improve on; like winning aerial balls.”

Letsholonyane’s manager Glen Lewis was also a happy man yesterday.

“After his performances in recent games, he certainly deserves it,” said Lewis.

Meanwhile, Safa has announced that all the Bafana Bafana players meeting the Flames at Germiston on Tuesday will receive caps.

The Bafana Bafana squad to face Malawi is as follows:

GOALKEEPERS: Moeneeb JOSEPHS Orlando Pirates

Shu-Aib WALTERS Bloemfontein Celtics

Itumeleng KHUNE Kaizer Chiefs

DEFENDERS: Nazeer ALLIE Ajax Cape Town

Brett EVANS Ajax Cape Town

Siboniso GAXA Mamelodi Sundowns

Morgan GOULD Supersport United

Robyn JOHANNES Mamelodi Sundowns

Bongani KHUMALO SuperSport United

Mbulelo MABIZELA Mamelodi Sundowns

Innocent MDLEDLE Orlando Pirates


Daine KLATE Supersport United

Reneilwe LETSHOLONYANE Kaizer Chiefs

Thulasizwe MBUYANE Orlando Pirates

Teko MODISE Orlando Pirates

Lebogang MOTHIBANTWA Orlando Pirates

Gert SCHALKWYK Kaizer Chiefs

Siphiwe TSHABALALA Kaizer Chiefs

Lefa TSUTSULUPA Moroka Swallows

STRIKERS Petrus MAHLATSI Bloemfontein Celtics

Bernard PARKER Thanda Royal Zulu

Eleazar RODGERS Santos