Motaung's best imports

Chiefs hired their first foreign coach as early as 1974 – four years after the club was founded – when Eddie Lewis took over from Thomas 'Zero' Johnson and the man himself, Kaizer Motaung.

Amakhosi have had 14 local coaches over the years, and Sergio dos Santos was Chiefs' last permanent local coach, in 1993. Since then they have been led by two Frenchmen, Philippe Troussier and Paul Dolezar, a Brazilian, Walter da Silva, a Turk, Muhsin Ertugral, a German, Ernst Middendorp, two Serbians, Kosta Papic and Vladimir Vermezovic, and now an Englishman, Stuart Baxter.

When he hired 'VV', Kaizer Motaung reminded KICK OFF readers that he has a long track record of employing coaches who are unknowns in South Africa – but insisted that he has made some very successful appointments.

Here are six coaches who were relatively undiscovered when they took over at Chiefs, and the list of honours they won.

1983 Oscar Casares The Argentine won the Datsun Challenge, but the League was a forlon hope as Clive Barker's Durban City won back-to-back tiles in the manner of SuperSport United recently. Casares was never highly regarded by Chiefs' star players, and even today the likes of Malombo Lechaba are still questioning his credentials. He later moved on to Dynamos with little success.

1986-88 Ted Dumitru Plenty of trophies for Dumitru in his first spell, but the League trophy went elsewhere. Chiefs won the JPS Knockout Cup and minor competitions like the Charity Spectacular and the National Panasonic Cup in 1986. They were more successful in 1987, winning the BP Top Eight Cup and the Mainstay Cup, as well as the Charity Spectacular and the Ohlssons Challenge. They were runners-up in the League. (He did win the League twice in his second spell with the club.)

1988-89 Jeff Butler Englishman Jeff Butler arrived from Zambia in 1988, and at the end of his first year he only had the JPS Knockout Cup to show for his troubles. But he reorganised the team and in 1989 Chiefs were League champions. They also won the BP Top Eight Cup and the Ohlssons Challenge and, as usual, the Charity Spectacular.

1992 Wiseman Mbale The late Wiseman Mbale was brought by Motaung from Bloemfontein Celtic in early 1992 and presided over Chiefs' 1-0 BP Top Eight Cup triumph over Sundowns. But the Zambian, an energetic individual, had the misfortune of taking over from Jeff Butler who had guided Chiefs to their most impressive League win to date and he was out long before the season's end – to be replaced by the returning Butler in his third spell.

1997-99 Paul Dolezar The volatile Dolezar never managed to win the League, although he had a good team that was runners-up two years running. They were also Rothmans Cup winners both years and generally impressed with their attacking flair.

1999-2002 Muhsin Ertugral Again, the League eluded Chiefs during the tenure of Ertugral (they were runners-up in 2001), but he won numerous trophies. The BobSave SuperBowl was lifted in his first season, and two years later the side launched 'Operation Vat Alles' – which ultimately amounted to everything but the League. Besides the pre-season Vodacom Challenge, Chiefs won the Coca-Cola Cup and the BP Top Eight Cup. Most memorably, however, they won the African Cup Winners Cup, resulting in Chiefs being named 2001 African Club of the Year.

Chiefs' foreign coaches

Eddie Lewis (1974-1976; 1980; 1983; 1985) Mario Tuani (1979-1980) Oscar Casares (1983) Joe Frickleton (1984-85) Ted Dumitru (1985-1988; 2003-2005) Jack Chamangwana (1988; 1989) Jeff Butler (1988-89;1991; 1992; 1995-96) Augusto Palacios (1990; 1995) Wiseman Mbale (1992) Geoff Hudson (1993) Philippe Troussier (1994) Walter da Silva (1996) Paul Dolezar (1997-1999) Muhsin Ertugral (1999-2002; 2007-09) Ernst Middendorp (2005-2007) Kosta Papic (2007) Vladimir Vermezovic (2009-2012) Stuart Baxter (2012-) Follow us on Twitter @ProjectJennifer and @ZolaDoda Jennifer Malec and Zola Doda