Baxter names Bafana squad

Bafana are due to face the Libyans at Stade Taieb Mhiri Sfax in neighbouring Tunisia on March 24, needing nothing less than a draw to book their spot in the continental competition set to take place in Egypt.

Bafana, who are unbeaten in the qualifiers, are on nine points after five matches, one behind Nigeria who have already qualified for AFCON.

Baxter has included Kaizer Chiefs goalkeeper Bruce Bvuma as a third-choice goalkeeper, while Bongani Zungu, Rivaldo Coetzee and Lars Veldwijk make a return to the squad. 

Bafana, meanwhile, will leave for Sfax on March 16, via Frankfurt. They will not have a camp in South Africa, so their first training session will be in Sfax. 


Goalkeepers: Darren Keet, Ronwen Williams, Bruce Bvuma

Defenders: Thulani Hlatshwayo, Innocent Maela, Sifiso Hlanti, Daniel Cardoso, Rivaldo Coetzee, Aubrey Modiba, Buhle Mkwanazi, Thamsanqa Mkhize

Midfielders: Dean Furman, Kamohelo Mokotjo, Themba Zwane, Thembinkosi Lorch, Hlompho Kekana, Bongani Zungu, Tiyani Mabunda, Thulani Serero

Strikers: Keagan Dolly, Lebo Mothiba, Lebohang Maboe, Lars Veldwijk, Percy Tau