Arrows pin Downs back in title race


Mamelodi Sundowns will head into the international break 10 points behind Kaizer Chiefs after suffering a 3-2 defeat away to Golden Arrows on Sunday.

Mauricio Affonso, Sphelele Mkhulise, Andile Jali, Lyle Lakay and Mosa Lebusa headlined Sundowns' five changes from the disappointing goalless draw away to Baroka FC in midweek.

Ball-watching at the back from Abafana Besthende let Masandawana in after ten minutes, but goalkeeper Edmore Sibanda rushed off his line to narrow Thapelo Morena’s low shot for a corner, before the shot-stopper denied Lakay moments later.

Knox Mutizwa carved open the Brazilians on the half-hour mark with a simple one-two on the edge of the area before flashing the final shot wide of the left-hand post.

However, Masandawana went ahead four minutes to halftime when Morena slotted home from inside the central area following a low cross on the left by Tebogo Langerman.

Pitso Mosimane went with two strikers on the 54th minute in an effort to kill the contest as Jose Ali Meza came in to partner Affonso with Mkhulise removed.

Arrows drew the cat from the bag five minutes later when Danny Phiri’s shot proved too strong for Denis Onyango, who saw the ball slip through his grasp and over the line.

Masandawana were stunned again when a diagonal ball from Divine Lunga found Mutizwa, who needed no second invitation with a first-time finish to the far corner with 20 minutes remaining.

Steve Komphela’s men ripped through the defence and earned a penalty after Seth Parusnath was upended by Motjeka Madisha ten minutes later, which allowed Mutizwa to convert for his brace.

Sundowns setup a nervy finish three minutes to the end when Jali popped up at the far side to lash home from a tight angle, but  Arrows survived the late pressure to stretch their unbeaten run to five matches.


Arrows: Sibanda, S.Dube, Sibisi, Mathiane, Lunga, Makhubela, Phiri, Shitolo, Parusnath, Mtshali, Mutizwa.

Subs: N.Gumede, L.Dube, Nkombelo, Sibeko, Venter, M.Gumede, Sibiya.

Sundowns: Onyango, Langerman, Ngcongca, Madisha, Jali, Coetzee, Lebusa, Morena, Mkhulise, Lakay, Affonso.

Subs: Mweene, Meza, Arendse, Vilakazi, Ngoma, Lukhubeni, Seabi.