Pirates coaching changes through the years


The latest coaching change at Orlando Pirates which have finally swallowed Josef Zinnbauer into the long list of former coaches has provided reminders about the volatility of that job.

Pirates announced on Monday that Zinnbauer had resigned just one game – an MTN8 defeat to Swallows FC – into the season.

The German has been a dead man walking for most of the past season and it was just a matter of when instead of if he would be packing his bags.

With the latest developments, Pirates have made changes with the season in motion in 15 of the 26 campaigns that the modern day PSL has run.

The facts show that only Rudi Krol has ever been able to last the length of his career and despite winning three trophies in his third year at the start of the double treble era his contract was not renewed.

Just like Krol, Gordon Igesund and Roy Barreto were all title winners but couldn’t stay on longer after lifting the league.

Zinnbauer goes away having been one of just a few coaches that have been able to stay on for a full season.

The Pirates coaching changes in the PSL era years:

1996/97 – Viktor Bondarenko/Augusto Palacios/Ronald Mkandawire

1997/98 – Ronald Mkandawire/Shaibu Amodu

1998/99 – Viktor Bondarenko

1999/00 – Ted Dumitru/Ronald Mkandawire

2000/01 – Gordon Igesund

2001/02 – Augusto Palacios/Jean-Yves Kerjean/Harris Chueu/Kerjean

2002/03 – Roy Barreto

2003/04 – Roy Barreto/Augusto Palacios

2004/05 – Kosta Papic

2005/06 – Kosta Papic/Teboho Moloi

2006/07 – Micho Sredojevic/Mutombo

2007/08 – Bibey Mutombo/Owen da Gama

2008-11 – Rudi Krol

2011/12 – Julio Leal/Augusto Palacios

2012/13 – Augusto Palacios/Roger de Sa

2013/14 – Roger de Sa/Eric Tinkler/Vermezovic

2014/15 – Vladimir Vermezovic/Eric Tinkler

2015/16 – Eric Tinkler

2016/17 – Muhsin Ertugral/Augusto Palacios/Kjell Jonevret

2017/18 – Micho Sredojevic

2018/19 – Micho Sredojevic

2019/20 – Micho Sredojevic/Rulani Mokwena/Josef Zinnbauer

2020/21 – Josef Zinnbauer

2021/22 – Josef Zinnbauer/???

Official: Mabunda leaves Sundowns

Chiefs, Pirates seal unwanted MTN8 record

Billiat within touching distance of milestone