TTM end SuperSport's Nedbank journey

Nedbank Cup

Tshakhuma Tsha Madzivhandila defeated SuperSport United 1-0 to book a spot in the Nedbank Cup last 16 on Thursday evening.

Former Bafana Bafana striker Tokelo Rantie was named on the Tshakuma bench, while SuperSport started with Moses Waiswa and Kudakwashe Mahachi from the 1-1 draw against Swallows FC.

Tshakhuma looked for the opener on 13 minutes through the far side from Thabo Mnyamane soon after having had a hand ball in the area on Keenan Phillips turned away.

Matsatsantsa created their first major opening from the edge of the area after the water break, but Thamsanqa Gabuza volleyed Sipho Mbule’s cutback over from a tight angle on the right-side.

The ball ended up in the net a minute after halftime from a curling strike by Mahachi following good footwork in the six-yard area from Mbule, but it was disallowed for offside by the assistant.

Vhadau vha Damani however bagged the opening goal on 61 minutes after Mnyamane arrived on the near side of the area to slot home a first-time cross from out wide.

It happened to be Mnyamane’s last involvement four minutes thereafter, as he made way for Lerato Lamola with debutant Rantie entering for Rhulani Manzini.

SuperSport could’ve gone level in the closing quarter from an attempt on the near side by Evans Rusike, but Arubi narrowed the angle with a solid block.

Rusike missed another clear chance six minutes to the end after he steered a delivery from the centre of the area wide of the bottom-corner following a deft first-touch.

Vhadau vha Damani gathered control soon after a nervy closing spell to see out the victory and a spot in the last 16 while SuperSport crash out at the Last 32 stage for a second successive season.

Other Last 32 result:

Bizana Pondo Chiefs 1-3 Cape Town All Stars

Confirmed line-ups:

TTM: Arubi, Theron, Ravhuhali, Ndengane, Nkili, Timm, Maphangule, Mnyamane, Manzini, Manaka, Molangoane

Subs: Mamudzidi, Mabotja, Nonyane, Thangwane, Madhanaga, Ngema, Rakhale, Rantie, Lamola

SuperSport: Williams, Philipps, Fleurs, Kekana, Ditlhokwe, Waiswa, Mbule, Mohomi, Mahachi, Grobler, Gabuza

Subs: Chigova, Khumalo, Nhlapo, Webber, Moralo, Rusike, Lungu