Sporting send Galaxy crashing out

Nedbank Cup

TS Galaxy became the first major casualty in the Nedbank Cup last 32 after a 5-4 penalty shoot-out defeat to TS Sporting on Saturday afternoon.

Forward Mxolisi Macuphu dropped to the substitutes’ bench from Galaxy’s side that beat Black Leopards in the DStv Premiership, as Felix Badenhorst received a rare outing.

Sporting were unfortunate not to go a goal down on 18 minutes through Tshegofatso Nyama, but he fired wide following a superb ball from Masilake Phohlongo.

Badenhorst did give his side the lead two minutes later following another supply from Phohlongo, but the man in the middle opted to disallow the strike for offside.

Abantu Bembetho continued to find life difficult in the latter moments of the first half with Badenhorst closing in again with a header from a pin-point free-kick by Phohlongo.

Bathusi Aubaas entered from the bench for the home side, with Sihle Ndluli sacrificed as the travelling side kept faith with the same eleven from the first spell.

The Rockets were unable to maintain their dominant spell from the first half soon following the break, with chances on goal hard to come by as Sporting began to fancy an upset.

Owen Da Gama’s men had a glorious chance to seal the tie seven minutes to the end through the head of Strydom Wambi, but he failed to profit.

Sporting finished with ten players in the final minute of the ninety after Humphrey Khoza received his marching orders, as the clash entered extra-time.

The Rockets had another chance to grab the winner in the additional period, but it was scuffed by substitute Macuphu thus a penalty shoot-out followed.

A miss from Mlungisi Mbunjana blew Galaxy’s chances in the shoot-out, as Sporting converted all their spot-kicks to progress to the last 16.

Confirmed line-ups:

Galaxy: Heugh, Fransman, Mahlangu, Msimango, Nyama, Mbunjana, Ndlovu, Nduli, Phohlongo, Badenhorst, Lekay

Subs: Buthelezi, Macuphu, Modisane, Matlala,  Shozi, Wambi, Munyai, Letsholonyane.

Sporting: Ngcobo, Chico, Lebahi, Dhladhla, Nkabinde, Mabeba, Mogaswa, Mbatha, Chauke, Sithole, Amoojee.

Subs: Wagaba, Ngubani, Croats, Khoza, Mokate, Mthembu, Mojela, Madondo.

TTM end SuperSport's Nedbank journey

Bucs pip Uthongathi to Nedbank last 16