Baroka pip Galaxy to NBK Last 8 berth

Nedbank Cup

Baroka FC progressed to the Nedbank Cup quarter-finals with a penalty shoot-out win over TS Galaxy on Sunday evening.

The Rockets welcomed back goalkeeper Melusi Buthelezi, Ethan Brooks, Mlungisi Mbunjana and Carlos Filipetto with Elvis Chipezeze and Decide Chauke among Baroka’s changes.

Following a nervy opening, Galaxy threatened midway in when a long pass from Aphelele Teto send Orebotse Mongae in on goal but the on-rushing nature of Chipezeze thwarted him.

Baroka made the breakthrough two minutes after the half-hour mark through a composed finish from the penalty-spot by Sekela Sithole following a foul on Thamsanqa Masiya.

The Rockets were at the end of another chance on the stroke of halftime after a pin-point cross from Vuyo Mere picked out Augustine Kwem, who headed over a charging Chipezeze.

Bakgaga Ba Ga Mphahlele eagerly looked to increase their tally minutes at the restart through a strong attempt from a tight angle by Sithole, but Buthelezi parried.

Sithole was involved in another opening seconds thereafter when he volleyed a loose ball on the edge of the area wide of target as the Rockets battled on.

Galaxy looked to revive their attacking impetus midway following the second half and introduced Wayde Lekay in the place of Kwem.

The Rockets were back on level terms inside the last ten minutes when a move in the area saw Sipho Maluleke direct the supply into his own net whilst looking to clear.

Bakgaga went searching to reclaim the lead late on from a clever ball into the area by Athenkosi Dlala, which Sbonelo Ngubane nodded over and had the match enter extra-time.

The tight nature of play continued inside the additional period with half-chances either way, but a penalty shoot-out followed after the match finished goalless.

Baroka possessed composure during the shoot-out with five successful executions to advance as Sihle Ndluli’s miss for the Rockets proved costly in the end.

Confirmed line-ups:

Galaxy: Buthelezi, Sanoka, Filipetto, Msimango, Mere, Mbunjana, Brooks, Hlongwane, Mongae, Teto, Kwem.

Subs: Kolak, Lekay, Phohlongo, Aubaas, Fakude, Mahlangu, Nduli, Roberts, Sebelebele.

Baroka: Chipezeze, Sithole, Shozi, Farmer, Maluleke, Chauke, Kambala, Masiya, Ngubane, Ndhlovu, Makgopa..

Subs: Molefe, Gebhardt, Mbulu, Malivha, Dlala, Monama, Bombi.