Maritzburg secure Nedbank Last 16 spot

Nedbank Cup

Maritzburg United registered a 2-1 victory over GladAfrica Championship side Sekhukhune United to secure passage to the Nedbank Cup last 16.

German-born goalkeeper Marcel Engelhardt was handed his Maritzburg debut, whilst veterans Jabulani Maluleke and Tapuwa Kapini featured for Sekhukhune.

The hosts had an early scare after Thabo Motlafi closed in with a promising attempt from the inside-left of the six-yard area, but it was effectively evaded by the opposing defence.

The danger signs weren’t over for Maritzburg as a ball into the area from the left had Riyaaz Ismail nearly heading into his own net after attempting a clearance.

Engelhardt was was forced into his first save of the match on the half-hour mark after Motlafi took aim with a blistering strike from a tight angle after running onto a through pass from Maluleke.

The Team of Choice aimed for an improved second half and with that introduced Bandile Shandu, Sibusiso Hlubi and debutant Phiwayinkosi Zuma.

It worked wonders as a scramble in the centre of the area following a long throw-in seconds from resumption allowed Tebogo Tlolane to smash into the top-corner of the net.

Zuma had a chance to cap his debut in style minutes later with a snap attempt on the edge of the area, but drilled wide of the near corner.

Babina Noko were put out of sight 20 minutes from time when Hlubi charged down a looping ball into the area from Daniel Morgan to fire in from close-range.

The Team of Choice lived nervously at the death after Sibusiso Mbonani side-footed into the roof of the net from a corner-kick, but it was too little too late for Sekhukhune.

Other Last 32 result:

Pretoria Callies 1-0 Royal AM

Confirmed line-ups:

Maritzburg: Engelhardt, Mngonyama, Kutumela, Hachi, Tlolane, Buchanan, Morgan, Bhengu, Ismail, Moseamedi, Meza.

Subs: Mpandle, Zuma, Carnell, Shandu, Modise, Ngwane, Hlubi, Buthelezi.

Sekhukhune: Kapini, Phiri, Hlongwane, Mbonani, Ndlela, Mokoena, Mbulu, Maluleke, Mofokeng, Motlafi, Nxumalo.

Subs: Mtswni, Makgoga, Sinvula, Musona, Ntsoane, Hlongo, Kobela