Cosmos, Tuks out of Nedbank Cup

Nedbank Cup

Cosmos, who are unbeaten at home all season, were on the back foot after Bukhosi Sibanda scored from close range to put visiting Ubuntu Cape Town in front, yet Ange Libahi’s penalty levelled matters as the game ended 1-1.

Penalties followed after extra-time, with Ubuntu keeper Buti Khoza in fine form, denying Ezenkhosi on three occasions as the Cape club emerged 3-1 victors to progress to the Last 32.

In a surprising result in Pietermaritzburg, hosts Royal Eagles – who had not won a match in seven attempts – humiliated title chasers AmaTuks 3-0 at the Sugar Ray Xulu Stadium. Three second-half goals did the trick for the hosts, as Joshua Sauls, Sandile Kubeka and Kenneth Makgothi avenged Eagles’ league defeat earlier in the season to dump the third-placed NFD team out of the tournament.

Elsewhere, a Stanley Muishond brace secured Richards Bay a first win since September and a spot in the Last 32 after their 2-1 win over Witbank Spurs, while Mthatha Bucks needed extra-time in their come-from-behind 2-1 victory over Uthongathi, Linda Bhengu and Mpho Erasmus – who netted in the 117th minute – ensuring the Eastern Cape club’s progression.

Log leaders Highlands Park got more than they bargained for against Real Kings, also needing extra-time to secure a 2-1 win. They were down just three minutes in after Lindokuhle Mtshali’s opener, yet Petrus Ngebo rescued his side with an equaliser 10 minutes before full-time, while completing his double in the 116th minute to help the Lions of the North avoid a surprise elimination.

Cape Town All Stars made it a clean sweep for the Mother City clubs following their 2-0 win at home against Tshakhuma Tsha Madzivhandila, Simphiwe Tshabalala and Nyembezi Setelele on target for just their side’s second win in their last six games.

With the NFD qualifiers now done and dusted, the eight teams representing South Africa’s second tier in the Nedbank Cup have now been confirmed, as Super Eagles, Stellenbosch, Ubuntu Cape Town, Royal Eagles, Richards Bay, Mthatha Bucks, Highlands Park and Cape Town All Stars advance to the Last 32, where they will join the 16 Absa Premiership teams and eight lower league teams, whose participation will be confirmed next year.