CT City thrash Swallows in MTN8 semis

MTN8 2021

Cape Town City cruised into the final of the MTN8 with a commanding 4-0 victory over Swallows FC in the semi-final second-leg on Wednesday evening.

Tebogo Langerman made back-to-back starts for Swallows while striker Ruzaigh Gamildien on the bench. As for City, Terrence Mashego was the Citizens' only change.

Swallows looked to settle first two minutes from the half-hour mark and saw Zaphaniah Mbokoma head a first-time cross from Vuyo Mere wide of the far post.

However, the Citizens registered first three minutes to halftime after a ball into the near post from Mashego found Surprise Ralani, who controlled perfectly to volley past a grappling Virgil Vries.

There were substitutions on either side, as City brought on Thabo Nodada while Dube Birds hauled in Zambian Mwape Musonda and Strydom Wambi.

The duo’s introductions livened up the host and Musonda nearly level matters on 52 minutes when he rounded goalkeeper Hugo Marques to get goal-side only to crack the post.

City upped their advantage six minutes apart and bagged a second goal through a lovely first-time chip from Fagrie Lakay after he ran onto a ball into space.

The former SuperSport United man should’ve secured a brace seconds later after he ran past Langerman to get on to a through ball, but from close-range he dragged wide.

Swallows' woes were compounded midway through the second half when Ralani arrived late in the area to tap home Nodada’s ball across the area following a blistering counter-attack.

The Citizens weren’t done and added a fourth goal in the last three minutes after Edmilson Dove got on the end of a corner-kick to head into the top corner to see City in the final of the MTN8, where they will face Mamelodi Sundowns.

Confirmed line-ups:

Swallows:  Vries, Mere, Sait, Sibiya, Langerman, Nyatama, Matlou, Mokoena, Mbokomo, Ndlovu, Malinga.

Subs: February, Mhlongo, Wambi, Letlabika, Makgalwa, Nene, Matlaba, Musonda, Gamildien

City: Hugo, Mkhize, Fasika, Fielies, Mashego, Mobara, Mokeke, Ajagun, Mdantsane, Ralani, Lakay

Subs: Mpandle, Nodada, Makola, Morris, Dove,  Mayo, Cupido, Mohkuoane, Martin