Tau hot on RamaG's heels

Mamelodi Sundowns

Not since Siyabonga Nomvethe in 2011/12 has a player in the PSL reached the 20-goal mark. In fact, in the last five seasons no player has scored more than 15 league goals in a season, which remains a big concern. It looks like it will be another low scoring season for strikers, but it could still turn out to be an interesting race for the award.

Polokwane City striker Rodney Ramagalela is leading the race for the Golden Boot at the halfway stage of the 2017/18 Premiership season. The former Mamelodi Sundowns man has eight goals from 14 games - two more than closest challenger Percy Tau of the Brazilians.

Tau finished the year on a high, with four goals in his last five matches. This will give him confidence going into the second round as Sundowns push to reclaim the Absa Premiership title they lost to Bidvest Wits.

Baroka midfielder Gift Motupa, on loan from Orlando Pirates, is three goals off the pace along with AmaZulu newcomer Rhulani Manzini. Word is that Motupa could return to Pirates in the second half of the season as they are looking for a player who can get on the score sheet regularly.

Tau's teammate Themba Zwane, Maritzburg United striker Evans Rusike, Golden Arrows' Siphelele Magubane and SuperSport United's Aubrey Modiba are next in line with four goals apiece.

A host of players have struck three times, such as Downs duo Khama Billiat and Hlompho Kekana, Kaizer Chiefs stalwart Siphiwe Tshabalala and Pirates targetman Thamsanqa Gabuza.

Lebogang Manyama was the top scorer in the league with 13 goals for Cape Town City last term prior to his move to Turkish outfit Konyaspor.

Past 16-team PSL League top scorers:

2016/17: Lebogang Manyama - 13

2015/16: Collins Mbesuma - 14

2014/15: Moeketsi Sekola - 14

2013/14: Bernard Parker - 10

2012/13: Katlego Mashego - 13

2011/12: Siyabonga Nomvete - 20

2010/11: Knowledge Musona - 15

2009/10: Katlego Mphela - 17

2008/09: Richard Henyekane - 19

2007/08: James Chamanga -14

2006/07: Chris Katongo - 15

2005/06: Mame Niang - 14

2004/05: Collins Mbesuma - 25

2003/04: Jackie Ledwaba - 14

2002/03: Lesley Manyathela - 18