Ellis names Banyana squad for AFCON

Banyana have been drawn into Group B with Kenya, Zambia and long-time rivals Nigeria, their first opponents on November 18.

Ellis named a strong squad during a press conference at SAFA House on Wednesday morning and will be hoping her players will finally win the competition and qualify for the FIFA World Cup for the first time in the senior national women's team's history.

The top three teams at the competition will qualify for the 2019 Women's World Cup to be played in France.

Overseas-based players Thembi Kgatlana, Linda Motlhalo, Leandra Smeda have been included in the squad, while the likes of Koketso Tlailane, Tiisetso Makhubela and Kgaelebane Mohlakoana will be hoping to get an opportunity to shine on the big stage.

The competition kicks off on November 17.


Goalkeepers: Andile Dlamini, Kaylin Swart, Roxanne Barker.

Defenders: Lebogang Ramalepe, Nothando Vilakazi, Janine Van Wyk, Noko Matlou, Bambanani Mbane, Tiisetso Makhubela, Koketso Tlailane.

Midfielders: Kgaelebane Mohlakoana, Mamello Makhabane, Leandra Smeda, Nompumelelo Nyandeni, Linda Motlhalo, Busisiwe Ndimeni, Refiloe Jane.

Strikers: Jermaine Seoposenwe, Thembi Kgatlana, Melinda Kgadiete, Amanda Mthandi.